Thread: 12 gpd Honeywell TrueSteam with VisionPro IAQ

Post Likes

12 gpd Honeywell TrueSteam with VisionPro IAQ

OK...I'm a newbie "user" but I've been reading the site for a long time...great site. Looking at investing in a 12 gal TrueSteam this fall...

It's a big investment but in my old, fairly-leaky house (3,000 sq. ft., built in 1912, 1st and 2nd floors gutted/insulated, original windows + storms) I think this thing could be a rockstar. I put in a "big" capacity bypass in myself last winter but that money would've been better spent on my gas bill since it provided almost zero humidity. Embarrassing...I know...moving on...

I have a question about Honeywell's recommended plenum mounting location. What I've got is a fibrous insulated (inside) plenum...god help us if it's asbestos (anyone know if they really did this??). My HVAC guy said we'd need to clear away the insulation from around where the steam nozzle goes into the plenum...I'm OK with that.

My real question is...I've probably got 21-22" of clearance from where the TrueSteam would "inject" steam, and the top of the plenum. My guy says this will be fine...but I know in the instructions it clearly states you need 24" of "downstream open duct space" above the steam injection nozzle to avoid condensation.

Questions:
    1) Is being inside the 24" spec by a few inches going to diminish my steam "absorption" by the supply airflow?

2) Would the fact that the plenum is insulated prevent the condensation altogether? Or would it be an even nastier problem due to the fibrous insulation??