Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: CGAM software update, new faults

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Ottawa, ON
    Posts
    6
    Post Likes

    CGAM software update, new faults

    So I have an older CGAM that needed a new EXV (circ 2), circuit 1 was running and maintaining for the most part, after installing the new EXV and molded plug I tried to unbind and bind the new molded plug, no luck, was told unit needs software update to support new EXV, installed newest software, was able to bind new EXV, started chiller and it began to run, then it tripped both circuits after a relatively short run time on "loss of charge", reset and started again.
    Circuit 2 that I worked on started first and ran for a liitle (5mins) then tripped off by "high suction temperature", circuit 1 then started and the same thing happened to it.
    Reset and monitored once more, circuit 2 suction temperature reading 195F and not really fluctuating much, even when idle, circuit 1 reading 115F and not fluctuating much either.....circuit 1 did run earlier that day no problem.
    Never actually measure with thermometer, but could hold both suction lines and they were cool to touch, definitely not 115 and 195F.
    Figured software upgrade maybe caused something to not read properly, tried downgrading the software to the lowest available (version 10), still the same issue.
    Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    ottawa canada
    Posts
    3,691
    Post Likes
    Your suction temp sensors are lying to you and need replacing .
    The toy chest is officially full ... I got a new toy..... 2007 Aston Martin V8 Vantage and yes it still gives me goosebumps
    You bend em" I"ll mend em" !!!!!!!
    I"m not a service tech.. I"m a thermodynamic transfer analyst & strategic system sustainability specialist
    In the new big shop , greasin', oilin' . tweakin' n shinin' !!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    in a tree looking in your window
    Posts
    1,973
    Post Likes
    I doubt it has anything to do with the software update, you might try un binding and re binding the suction sensors, your going to have to verify the actual temp readings and replace them if they are off.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Ottawa, ON
    Posts
    6
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Thanks guys!
    After digging in deeper, it is the sensors.
    It was just strange to me after a software update it started.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    ottawa canada
    Posts
    3,691
    Post Likes
    Make sure you get the correct sensor , suction temp sensors are fast acting if I remember correctly .
    The toy chest is officially full ... I got a new toy..... 2007 Aston Martin V8 Vantage and yes it still gives me goosebumps
    You bend em" I"ll mend em" !!!!!!!
    I"m not a service tech.. I"m a thermodynamic transfer analyst & strategic system sustainability specialist
    In the new big shop , greasin', oilin' . tweakin' n shinin' !!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Ottawa, ON
    Posts
    6
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Yes they are the fast acting.
    When I called Trane they thought it was another temperature sensor and they said there is over 12,000 on back order in all of North America.
    Had to send the apprentice to the next city 2.5hrs away to grab them!
    Have a great weekend all!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •