+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 8 12345678 LastLast

Thread: Hot head, low charge? Ship refridge system out of tune

Post Likes

Hot head, low charge? Ship refridge system out of tune

Hi all, first post here. I've posted a bunch of data on the pictures, in hope to make the problem at bit more clear.

I am an engineer on a ship with a dual system (as is used on many ships here), with walk-in cooler and freezer running on the same compressor. The system seems to run fine, the cycles are short'ish and the daily run time is down from 15 hours, to 10. But the head is still very hot, and I am afraid of burning the compressor.

Pressure/data:

• HP : 10,8 bar
    • LP : 0,5 (would like this to be 1,5 bar..I guess)
    • Walk in freezer setpoint : -7 F
    • Walk in cooler : 40 F (should be set lower)

The system runs about 10 hours a day, which is a great improvement from 15 hours, but it is still very hot. It was 250F on the head before I started messing with it, and now It's 230F, so a small improvement, but not much.

I have a suspicion that it's under charged, but the sight glass is totally clear (not empty) and the glass on the bottom of the receiver is also full.

Any suggestions for the hot head? I simply don't understand it, because on a sister ship, the LP is 0,25 and the head is 160 and no visible liquid in the bottom of the receiver. They are using R404A.

We recently had out evap replaced by professionals due to a serious leak, and had to change over to R407F. Now it runs hot, with even more charge than before. Could it be full of air? I have tried to purge it on the head, when it is stopped, only gas seems to escape.
    Attached Images Attached Images     

Post Likes