Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 40

Thread: Anyone tried the new Testo 557 digital gauges?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    2,585
    Post Likes

    Anyone tried the new Testo 557 digital gauges?

    I may be in the market for a new set of digital gauges soon. Not sure what the latest greatest on the market is. I was looking at the new Testo or Fieldpiece SMAN


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    2,585
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Nobody?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago area
    Posts
    15,770
    Post Likes
    One of my co-workers has the newer 550 and likes it.

    Seems pretty slick.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. Likes 270wsm liked this post.
  5. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Montreal, Qc.
    Posts
    916
    Post Likes
    Just picked up a set of the 550S with Bluetooth clamps and vacuum gauge yesterday.
    Will report back once I use them.
    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

  6. Likes heatingman liked this post.
  7. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    5,585
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by 270wsm View Post
    I may be in the market for a new set of digital gauges soon. Not sure what the latest greatest on the market is. I was looking at the new Testo or Fieldpiece SMAN


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Have you tried smart probes? I thought they were unnecessary until I started used them, now I wouldn’t go back to lugging around a manifold set with hoses for anything. Just a suggestion, I know some folks like manifold sets.
    "The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing" Socrates

  8. Likes R600a, TruTech-Bill liked this post.
  9. #6
    Hurst11 is offline Professional Member/Membership Committee
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    Haskell Oklahoma
    Posts
    1,407
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by mgenius33 View Post
    Have you tried smart probes? I thought they were unnecessary until I started used them, now I wouldn’t go back to lugging around a manifold set with hoses for anything. Just a suggestion, I know some folks like manifold sets.
    Same here Love my probes. I do still prefer to use my analogs when pumping one down tho. Just something lovely about seeing a needle fall steadily.

  10. Likes Restaurant mech, R600a liked this post.
  11. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    Winnipeg Canada
    Posts
    2,356
    Post Likes
    Probes really are the way to go. Unfortunately, until someone tries them , they won't understand.
    I carry my probes and one hose on every call now

  12. Likes R600a liked this post.
  13. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago area
    Posts
    15,770
    Post Likes

    Anyone tried the new Testo 557 digital gauges?

    Me, Im all but over probes.

    I cant stand having to break out the phone to get saturation temps and so forth.

    Too much dorking around.

    I like digital, but like the dedicated screen of the tool itself.

    What Id like to see it a robust receiver of sorts made by the probe manufacturer that all the data gets routed to from the probes and auto connects.

    That is the size of like a DVM meter and has a very long life battery. Like an entire season. With a good range that never drops out.

    Fully expandable to air probes and so on.

    That can then Bluetooth to the phone for a report of thats what your into.

    Probably asking too much, but hey.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  14. #9
    R600a's Avatar
    R600a is online now Professional Member*/Membership Committee
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Hanging out with the mice behind the fridge talking bad about the roaches in the oven.
    Posts
    22,419
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by heatingman View Post
    Me, Im all but over probes.

    I cant stand having to break out the phone to get saturation temps and so forth.

    Too much dorking around.

    I like digital, but like the dedicated screen of the tool itself.

    What Id like to see it a robust receiver of sorts made by the probe manufacturer that all the data gets routed to from the probes and auto connects.

    That is the size of like a DVM meter and has a very long life battery. Like an entire season. With a good range that never drops out.

    Fully expandable to air probes and so on.

    That can then Bluetooth to the phone for a report of thats what your into.

    Probably asking too much, but hey.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    That sounds like a pretty cool idea.

    Sent from the Okie state usin Tapatalk
    "Is this before or after you fired the parts cannon at it?" - senior tech
    "Is this before or after you fired the parts cannon at it?" - senior tech
    I'm tired of these mediocre "semi flammable" refrigerants. If we're going to do it let's do it right.
    Unless we change direction we are likely to end up where we are going.
    "It's not new, it's better than new!" Maru.

  15. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago area
    Posts
    15,770
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by R600a View Post
    That sounds like a pretty cool idea.

    Sent from the Okie state usin Tapatalk
    "Is this before or after you fired the parts cannon at it?" - senior tech
    Basically an I connect with its own screen with a way better battery. Maybe even multi platform.

    Or even just a digital manifold that has an option to receive remote refrigerant probes or the built in. User selected at power up.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  16. Likes R600a liked this post.
  17. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    20
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by thump_rrr View Post
    Just picked up a set of the 550S with Bluetooth clamps and vacuum gauge yesterday.
    Will report back once I use them.
    Did they come in a shock proof case , if not I highly recommend one .I bought two of the old ones and They both crapped out in less than a year . Put third set in shock proof case , still look and work like new for 3 years now .


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  18. Likes kaz123 liked this post.
  19. #12
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    2,585
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    My Digicool AK900 is still
    Kicking for now. I thought it was going bad but turned out to be a bad temperature clamp causing strange readings. Replaced clamps and all is well again. I bought a set of the fieldpiece wireless probes. I use the hygrometers all the time. Havent tried the pressure probes yet or the manometers.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  20. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    up in the hizzy
    Posts
    4,430
    Post Likes
    [QUOTE=270wsm;26095767]My Digicool AK900 is still
    Kicking for now. I thought it was going bad but turned out to be a bad temperature clamp causing strange readings. Replaced clamps and all is well again. I /QUOTE]


    I'm still using the first DC version,,,,,, the YJ rebranded.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by valdelocc; 09-02-2021 at 01:51 PM.
    There is not better place for the working men than the union! 100% UA the only HVAC union!

  21. Likes 270wsm, heatingman liked this post.
  22. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    5,585
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by heatingman View Post
    Basically an I connect with its own screen with a way better battery. Maybe even multi platform.

    Or even just a digital manifold that has an option to receive remote refrigerant probes or the built in. User selected at power up.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    That's one of the main reasons my set went on eBay. Second was all the friggin' 12' wires.
    "The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing" Socrates

  23. #15
    R600a's Avatar
    R600a is online now Professional Member*/Membership Committee
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Hanging out with the mice behind the fridge talking bad about the roaches in the oven.
    Posts
    22,419
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by mgenius33 View Post
    That's one of the main reasons my set went on eBay. Second was all the friggin' 12' wires.
    What were you using that had wires?

    Sent from the Okie state usin Tapatalk
    "Is this before or after you fired the parts cannon at it?" - senior tech
    "Is this before or after you fired the parts cannon at it?" - senior tech
    I'm tired of these mediocre "semi flammable" refrigerants. If we're going to do it let's do it right.
    Unless we change direction we are likely to end up where we are going.
    "It's not new, it's better than new!" Maru.

  24. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Upstate, South Carolina
    Posts
    335
    Post Likes
    I bought the 550s , I love them. working great and many features

  25. Likes heatingman liked this post.
  26. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago area
    Posts
    15,770
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by mgenius33 View Post
    That's one of the main reasons my set went on eBay. Second was all the friggin' 12' wires.
    Did it sell for a reasonable amount? Ive got one I might be looking to offload.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  27. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago area
    Posts
    15,770
    Post Likes

    Anyone tried the new Testo 557 digital gauges?

    Quote Originally Posted by R600a View Post
    What were you using that had wires?

    Sent from the Okie state usin Tapatalk
    "Is this before or after you fired the parts cannon at it?" - senior tech
    I connect temp probes were wired to the refrigerant or air probes.




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  28. Likes R600a liked this post.
  29. #19
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Posts
    535
    Post Likes
    I've used JL probes since the day they were released. Even with the "growing pains" of the app and connection, (which is largely fixed), I still love them and use them most of the time. I do like to have a manifold sometimes, and I will admit, the probe connection to the manifold is (from my experience) 100%, so I use it a lot too. With all the data that FP gives in it's app and the long range, I have no reason to use Testo. I've used the older Testo 550 and liked it a lot, but it just doesn't do what the JL system will do. Now does the new Testo read psychrometers and calculate capacity, TEET, and superheat/subcooling. and display that info on the manifold? I'm sure you could use MQ and get that type of data with them, but the JL system will work with MQ too, so again, no need to go Testo. I like Testo stuff, but they always seem to be a step behind the competition, if the new 550s was competing against the SMAN 360, then that would be a pretty fair comparison.
    Just one man's opinion.

  30. Likes R600a liked this post.
  31. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    5,585
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by heatingman View Post
    Did it sell for a reasonable amount? Ive got one I might be looking to offload.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    I got $900 for them on eBay. iConnect air and refer kit, plus the dual port manometer. Paid about $1600 or maybe a little more. What a waste.

    I just picked up a 2nd set of FP JL3KH6 kit for a decent deal at the local Carrier supply house. $494 + tax, couldn't pass it up. My old set still works fine, but it's nice to have a back up.

    I have the manometers and the SC680. The manometers are ok, but you do need to zero them frequently. The first SC680 I bought broke the clamp within a couple weeks of use. Kinda pissed I had to pay for shipping to get a new one under warranty. The replacement has been working fine for over 6 months daily use now. I actually stopped using my Fluke 902. The whole FP system is just so much easier to use, and a streamlined app. Yeah, the app has some minor issues like disconnect and reconnect, but I can deal with them. The range is great and they almost always reconnect within a 5-10 seconds. It's just nice to have all of the information in your hand, and then be able to quickly make a pdf of all the data, what's not to like.

    Unfortunately, I like my BluVac +Pros too much to switch to the new FP micron gauge. I don't know, I'll probably pick one of them up as well. I mean damn, I just bought an FP VP67 vacuum pump too. They should offer a free tool for buying a certain amount of their damn tools. Or at least their nice little mini back pack with proof of purchases.
    Last edited by mgenius33; 09-10-2021 at 09:56 PM.
    "The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing" Socrates

  32. Likes R600a, heatingman liked this post.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •