Thread: Mitsubishi Minisplit Controller + Horizontal Ducted SEZ Condensate Pump Questions

Post Likes

Mitsubishi Minisplit Controller + Horizontal Ducted SEZ Condensate Pump Questions

Hi,

I have been trying to get an answer from my installer (ultimately through Mitsubishi) for weeks now and unfortunately have nothing from them. We recently had a SEZ/SUZ combo installed and some things have been bothering me.

1) In cooling/drying mode, I'm 99% sure it's a condensate pump humming away 24/7 no matter if it's actually calling for cooling/generating condensate. It's most noticeable in drying mode when the temperature drops below the threshold and the fan stops so all you can hear is the pump. It sounds like it's grinding away, non-stop. I'm no HVAC expert, but running a pump dry is just bad practice. How can this not result in premature component failure if I have the unit in AC mode from May - Sep, and the condensate pump runs 100% of the time despite needing only short bursts of cooling that entire time? Not to mention it's surprisingly loud. This extra humming noise is only present during cooling and drying, and starts as soon as the unit kicks into that mode until a few minutes after the whole unit is shut off at the controller level (suspect evacuating any leftover condensate). On top of all of this, is there any real need for a condensate pump anyway if the unit is installed in the attic and the drain line comes out and down to the ground level outside? I haven't looked around close enough to see how the condensate flows out of this unit.