Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Learning Metasys and CCT

Post Likes

Learning Metasys and CCT

I recently started at a new company that does Metasys and FX. I'm looking for resources on programming in CCT. I have a few years of experience with ALC/WebCtrl, so I'm not new to the field or programming. I understand PID loops, network I/O vs hardware I/O, and I'm slowly beginning to understand the state tables that CCT revolves around.

I've watched a few youtube videos, read some of the help guides, and spent some time looking through CCT on my own. I have too many questions to ask all at once, but I will list some off the top of my head.

What are the advantages of sideloops vs just adding logic/modules to the main program?
    What are passthroughs in terms of logic? Something about network inputs becoming a state table?
    Can I create custom "passthroughs" myself? (the pre-built CCT programs have water flush passthroughs for example)

In ALC/WebCtrl, you can load a single program file into as many controllers as you want, but for Metasys I was told you have to change the name of the program file to be unique for every controller? Is that true and why?

Has anyone else made the jump from ALC to JCI? Maybe you can share a little more...

Post Likes
    No real advantage to adding a side loop vs just adding the modules. Sometimes it may be quicker to add a side loop then go back and edit those stupid names that it assigns.
    The pass through blocks are really just connection points to get into the state tables. I rarely ever used them in custom programs.
    The easiest way to learn is to build some programs from the selection tree to see some examples, then build a couple simple custom programs to and simulate them to test

Post Likes