Thread: Getting The Correct ESP From A Furnace With A PSC Motor Compared To One With A ECM?

Post Likes

Getting The Correct ESP From A Furnace With A PSC Motor Compared To One With A ECM?

Hello Im trying to see if Im on the right path when it comes to getting the maximum operating (ESP) External Static Pressure on the new ECM Furnaces compared to the old PSC motors.

When it comes to the PSC Furnaces the furnace has already been lab tested for the maximum (ESP) and they would put it on the Data Plate while with the new ECM Furnaces requires us to go by the Manufacturers Fan Performance Chart? Im studying using Manual D and I just want to know if this is correct?

Thanks!

Post Likes
    Hello Cook42 - I believe that all air handlers, all devices with inside Blowers, will have the maximum external static pressure listed on the unit.
    But you could always go look at the fan perf chart and you will see where the Static Pressure maxes out which will be where the flow numbers stop.
    Does that help?

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Tom Thermo View Post
    Hello Cook42 - I believe that all air handlers, all devices with inside Blowers, will have the maximum external static pressure listed on the unit.
    But you could always go look at the fan perf chart and you will see where the Static Pressure maxes out which will be where the flow numbers stop.
    Does that help?
    Hello and thanks I was just trying to make sure! Thanks!

Post Likes
    Lots of newer installs will exceed the data plate. It's not unusual to bump .8 +with some coils I'm told (Carrier)
    Don't pay too much attention to ESP. The fans are rated under lab conditions with no inlet restrictions.
    Why do you want to max out the fan? Is the CFM not what your looking for?
    ESP is OK for troubleshooting but there are better ways to measure performance.
    Give me a relay with big enough contacts, and I'll run the world!