Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Niagara WebLauncher

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    47
    Post Likes

    Niagara WebLauncher

    Hi all,
    Upgraded an AX station to N4.8 Am try to connect with the customers windows 10 computer. Get the screen for entering the URL, then get to the login. After logging in get to the loading page but status bar at the bottom disappears after about a minute and says loading module list but never goes any further.
    TIA for any help

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    2,824
    Post Likes
    You get that in the browser or in niagara web launcher?

    Using workbench can you open the station on the same network the customers computer is on?

    Add a HX user profile login and try that in the browser.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Kenilworth NJ
    Posts
    3,320
    Post Likes
    My mind is telling me web launcher went away about a year ago....
    Hmmmm....smells like numbatwo to me.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    2,824
    Post Likes
    Really? I just set one up last week on a 4.9 jace. Is it considered legacy or something? It was the first thing I found that gets you wire sheets without full workbench.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    6,447
    Post Likes
    Think the old web launcher died with the java licensing change. The new launcher, whatever they call it, still works in current N4 releases. Not sure if they updated AX for this. If so, I'm guessing its only the latest 3.8.5 something release.
    Propagating the formula. http://www.noagendashow.com/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Wa
    Posts
    813
    Post Likes
    Yeah Java webstart went away awhile back. Niagara web launcher works I've used it a lot. Haven't seen the issue markgHvac is describing.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    6,447
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Norriski Tech View Post
    Haven't seen the issue markgHvac is describing.
    I have and its the old skool web launcher.

    Niagara launcher works. On the logon screen the wording changed from web to niagara launcher. Not sure this launcher made it to AX and if so, its only going to be in the most recent releases. N4.6 and below also use the old skool launcher off memory.
    Propagating the formula. http://www.noagendashow.com/

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Wa
    Posts
    813
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by orion242 View Post
    I have and its the old skool web launcher.

    Niagara launcher works. On the logon screen the wording changed from web to niagara launcher. Not sure this launcher made it to AX and if so, its only going to be in the most recent releases. N4.6 and below also use the old skool launcher off memory.
    Hmm? Old school= Java webstart stopped working when Oracle killed support around 1.9jre New school= Niagara Launcher or web launcher? Works fine in 4.8. Was there something between webstart and the launcher? I don't recall that ? Are you saying he's using old school?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    6,447
    Post Likes
    The old web launcher does exactly what they describe. You get the login prompt but it craps the bed after that. The wording changed on the logon screen and that's the easy tell.
    Propagating the formula. http://www.noagendashow.com/

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Wa
    Posts
    813
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by orion242 View Post
    The old web launcher does exactly what they describe. You get the login prompt but it craps the bed after that. The wording changed on the logon screen and that's the easy tell.
    Sorry little slow here! Your point is look at the wording to determine if your using the wrong one. I know it says something different, but setting it up is also different that would be the tell to me.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Kenilworth NJ
    Posts
    3,320
    Post Likes
    Ah webstart vs weblauncher. Yes webstart died. And if you try to use it, it does give the error described if you try and you got newer Java installed if memory serves.
    Hmmmm....smells like numbatwo to me.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    2,824
    Post Likes
    The current thing is indeed "Niagara Web Launcher"

    Executable installers for the client app:

    64-bit systems: https://weblauncher.niagara-central....ebLauncher.msi
    32-bit (-x86) systems: https://weblauncher.niagara-central....uncher-x86.msi

    You can generally get those straight from the jace too, I think.

    What you also get from the jace by clicking on the web launch link on the web page is a (stationname).nwl file. This is a simple text file containing your jace IP address;

    host=https://192.168.2.140
    Basically it's just a clickable shortcut you can save on the desktop. If you don't have one you can make your own with notepad.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,842
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by markgHVAC View Post
    Hi all,
    Upgraded an AX station to N4.8 Am try to connect with the customers windows 10 computer. Get the screen for entering the URL, then get to the login. After logging in get to the loading page but status bar at the bottom disappears after about a minute and says loading module list but never goes any further.
    TIA for any help
    Niagara Web Launcher 20.1.3 is a major upgrade from the prior version. It carries a number of bug fixes and internal library upgrades to bring it into parity with Niagara release version 4.9 and up.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    1,372
    Post Likes
    I have an install by another company at 3.7. I put "Niagara Web Launcher" on the customer's computer but it wouldn't work with that version I guess. What level must the jace be at? I'm trying not to incur any cost, license, or driver changes. (I'm afraid I'll brick it). I walked through the 3.8.311 commissioning and didn't see any module titled Webstart. Is it just in the upgrade somewhere and not separate?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    6,447
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by incontrol View Post
    didn't see any module titled Webstart. Is it just in the upgrade somewhere and not separate?
    Pretty sure its part of the web.jar.
    Propagating the formula. http://www.noagendashow.com/

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Wa
    Posts
    813
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by incontrol View Post
    I have an install by another company at 3.7. I put "Niagara Web Launcher" on the customer's computer but it wouldn't work with that version I guess. What level must the jace be at? I'm trying not to incur any cost, license, or driver changes. (I'm afraid I'll brick it). I walked through the 3.8.311 commissioning and didn't see any module titled Webstart. Is it just in the upgrade somewhere and not separate?
    Want to say 3.8.213 some where in that rev? Have used it a bunch on 3.8 stations so think you've got no choice but to go up.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    6,447
    Post Likes
    https://www.jacksoncontrol.com/techn...e-for-download

    AX 3.8u4 and higher from the looks of it.
    Propagating the formula. http://www.noagendashow.com/

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    1,372
    Post Likes
    Someone mentioned 3.7.108. Is it available in that so I won't need a license change?

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Kenilworth NJ
    Posts
    3,320
    Post Likes
    I remember it being 3.8.113... I know it was not in 3.8.38 or the one after (83?)
    I do not think it was on 3.7 at all... but I am wrong plenty of times. The way to know is to upgrade it to the latest 3.7 and see how it goes.
    Hmmmm....smells like numbatwo to me.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    6,447
    Post Likes
    Ditto pull a backup and launch it on your laptop to see.
    Propagating the formula. http://www.noagendashow.com/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •