Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Replacement Geo Selection

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    State College, PA
    Posts
    3,357
    Post Likes

    Replacement Geo Selection

    Just can from a 20+ year old Water Furnace wil bad compressor. Sounds like the crank in broken and blows the breaker.

    At this age makes more sense for new geo. Customer agrees.

    As I recall I can not purchase a Water furnace unless I am a licensed dealer. No time for that, they are running on electric heat.

    What do you recommend as a replacement? This is a closed slinky loop. 6 tons on a 4000 sq.ft. house.

    Pros & cons would be great.
    Can someone please explain to me -
    Why is there never enough time to do it right the first time, but plenty of time to do it twice?


    Please view site rules: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=1241

    Apply for Pro Membership: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=116113

    Find your local HVAC-Talk Contractor: http://hvac-talk.com/aop

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    State College, PA
    Posts
    3,357
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    No one has any experience or input? That is strange.
    Can someone please explain to me -
    Why is there never enough time to do it right the first time, but plenty of time to do it twice?


    Please view site rules: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=1241

    Apply for Pro Membership: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=116113

    Find your local HVAC-Talk Contractor: http://hvac-talk.com/aop

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Oklahoma home its in the name
    Posts
    5,866
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by joemach View Post
    No one has any experience or input? That is strange.
    That is what I was thinking. The forum seems slow lately.

    Sent from the Okie state usin Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    29,383
    Post Likes
    I have some experience - but I'm not sure I can be a huge help to you. <g>

    I like Water Furnace and find their parts really inexpensive. So much so that I have often bought them to repair other brands. If there is a way for me to buy WF equipment locally - I don't know it.

    I also like Florida Heat Pump and used to do all their factory service in this area. But now I've been using only Bosch for so long that I can't really contrast it to anything else.

    So, for whatever it's worth, I recommend that you sell them Bosch as a replacement. <g>

    United Refrigeration will have whatever you need. Or rather; they always have for me. <g>

    PHM
    -------


    Quote Originally Posted by joemach View Post
    Just can from a 20+ year old Water Furnace wil bad compressor. Sounds like the crank in broken and blows the breaker.

    At this age makes more sense for new geo. Customer agrees.

    As I recall I can not purchase a Water furnace unless I am a licensed dealer. No time for that, they are running on electric heat.

    What do you recommend as a replacement? This is a closed slinky loop. 6 tons on a 4000 sq.ft. house.

    Pros & cons would be great.
    PHM
    --------
    The conventional view serves to protect us from the painful job of Thinking

  5. Likes R600a liked this post.
  6. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    State College, PA
    Posts
    3,357
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by Poodle Head Mikey View Post
    I have some experience - but I'm not sure I can be a huge help to you. <g>

    I like Water Furnace and find their parts really inexpensive. So much so that I have often bought them to repair other brands. If there is a way for me to buy WF equipment locally - I don't know it.

    I also like Florida Heat Pump and used to do all their factory service in this area. But now I've been using only Bosch for so long that I can't really contrast it to anything else.

    So, for whatever it's worth, I recommend that you sell them Bosch as a replacement. <g>

    United Refrigeration will have whatever you need. Or rather; they always have for me. <g>

    PHM
    -------
    Thanks Mikey,

    I have put in a few of the new Bosch air to air heat pumps and am quite impressed. So I was looking at putting in a Bosch geo for this fellow as well.
    Can someone please explain to me -
    Why is there never enough time to do it right the first time, but plenty of time to do it twice?


    Please view site rules: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=1241

    Apply for Pro Membership: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=116113

    Find your local HVAC-Talk Contractor: http://hvac-talk.com/aop

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold, NY
    Posts
    32,116
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by joemach View Post
    Just can from a 20+ year old Water Furnace wil bad compressor. Sounds like the crank in broken and blows the breaker.

    At this age makes more sense for new geo. Customer agrees.

    As I recall I can not purchase a Water furnace unless I am a licensed dealer. No time for that, they are running on electric heat.

    What do you recommend as a replacement? This is a closed slinky loop. 6 tons on a 4000 sq.ft. house.

    Pros & cons would be great.
    Personal Question. What size tubing and how long on that loop?

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Virginia Beach VA
    Posts
    52
    Post Likes
    I can't speak much to repairs but we have been involved in several recent projects where we see faulty geo being abandoned rather than repaired. And for a lot of new builds especially green-oriented, we see geo totally stalled out. Mainly the result of new generation air to water HPs, eg. chiltrix and others with around the same efficiency as geo without any ground components. Time for the geo manufacturers to up their game. There's no technological reason that geo cant beat air to water, but yet...more and more, it doesn't.

  9. Likes R600a liked this post.
  10. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    State College, PA
    Posts
    3,357
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by pecmsg View Post
    Personal Question. What size tubing and how long on that loop?
    That I am not sure of. I know the original installer, who does not do HVAC work anymore (found something a little saner). I will talk with him and se what he says.

    This might be on delay due to equipment availability.

    I am looking at the Climate Master Tranquility 30, I think it is.
    Can someone please explain to me -
    Why is there never enough time to do it right the first time, but plenty of time to do it twice?


    Please view site rules: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=1241

    Apply for Pro Membership: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=116113

    Find your local HVAC-Talk Contractor: http://hvac-talk.com/aop

  11. Likes pecmsg liked this post.
  12. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    57
    Post Likes
    used to install Climate Master WSHP's Even did some huge schools with them. I eventually found them to be an absolute pain in the maintenance department. I lost GOOD customers due to all the issues.
    Most residential ones are Installed badly and the controls dont work well. Generally the ground loops, especially the slinky loops are either too little on the area or to long on the length.

    End of Rant..

    If it was me, Id just replace the compressor, Add a Suction line accumulator, A new High/low pressure cutout and a compressor monitor and be done with it.
    Search around for something better.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •