Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 35

Thread: The fuse of shame

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Bay Area California
    Posts
    30,707
    Post Likes

    The fuse of shame

    Name:  20200120_133147.jpg
Views: 2166
Size:  6.52 MB
    I do a triple evac with nitro to remove non condensables.

  2. Likes CEAS-AC-TECH, ksefan liked this post.
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    270
    Post Likes
    Nice, quess they didn't have a copper pipe small enough!

    Sent from my VS501 using Tapatalk

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    SouthEast NC ICW & Piedmont Foothills
    Posts
    8,167
    Post Likes
    An ATO fuse and stake-ons would have solved that crackhead well.
    It`s better to be silent and thought the fool; than speak and remove all doubt.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    DFW, TX.
    Posts
    2,180
    Post Likes
    Bro...

    Sent from my LM-G820 using Tapatalk

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    va
    Posts
    1,611
    Post Likes
    That's better than the "Darwin Award winner" who used a 22 rimfire in a truck fuse holder, shot his self in his pride, ran into a canal and drowned....


    Tech told me once he knew how may strands & gauge of wire to use if he didn't have a replacement fuse.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Bay Area California
    Posts
    30,707
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Whoa, that's good.


    Quote Originally Posted by ehsx View Post
    That's better than the "Darwin Award winner" who used a 22 rimfire in a truck fuse holder, shot his self in his pride, ran into a canal and drowned....


    Tech told me once he knew how may strands & gauge of wire to use if he didn't have a replacement fuse.
    I do a triple evac with nitro to remove non condensables.

  8. Likes lions_lair liked this post.
  9. #7
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Bay Area California
    Posts
    30,707
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    I'm thinkin' if it was me, I would've wrapped the foil around, then cut most of it away.

    For what it's worth, just going through almost a year and a half worth of photos on the smarty phone. Absolutely amazing how much memory these things have these days. Probably has taken nearly two hours to go through the first four months. But that includes filing personal photo's as well as making a few posts here. Just for fun. But I think it's time to take a shot, and open a beer; had the day off to be the support crew for the guy who installed fiber optic.

    Weird, feels like a Saturday, but need to be on the job tomorrow. Weirdness. On top of weirdness. Weird.
    I do a triple evac with nitro to remove non condensables.

  10. Likes R600a liked this post.
  11. #8
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Salt Lake City/Tooele
    Posts
    6,478
    Post Likes
    You know the wanna-be tech that did that was looking around for anything and saw those shielded 18/3 wires there....ZZZZZZZZZZap! Lightbulb flickers on and he stripped those back, and got him some foil. Have to remember that next time I'm in a jam...LOL

  12. Likes Gary Warren Jr liked this post.
  13. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    va
    Posts
    1,611
    Post Likes
    Use gum wrappers for < 2 amps...

  14. Likes Gary Warren Jr, stumpdigger liked this post.
  15. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Maple Grove, MN
    Posts
    3,917
    Post Likes
    How many amps is an orange wirenut good for? (That's what I normally use)
    If at First You Don't Succeed, Skydiving Is Not for You.

  16. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Sea to Sky
    Posts
    4,994
    Post Likes
    This will answer all your alternate fuse size questions.Name:  tapatalk_1398192200667.jpg
Views: 2029
Size:  34.0 KB

    Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk

  17. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Garner NC
    Posts
    3,571
    Post Likes
    wait till you see all the newer rtu $25.00+ fuses instead of the $5.00 ones you use there, lol cfm fuses are overrated! lol the unit will just trip out on high head pressure still requiring the service call

  18. #13
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Bay Area California
    Posts
    30,707
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Awhile back had an older Trane (I think it was) in the 20 ton range. CFM's fused and the control transformer was after those fuses. Fuse blew and the whole unit shuts down.


    Quote Originally Posted by Unlimited1 View Post
    wait till you see all the newer rtu $25.00+ fuses instead of the $5.00 ones you use there, lol cfm fuses are overrated! lol the unit will just trip out on high head pressure still requiring the service call
    I do a triple evac with nitro to remove non condensables.

  19. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    22,860
    Post Likes
    Yep Carrier want's about $25 bucks per fuse for their VFD's.

  20. Likes CEAS-AC-TECH liked this post.
  21. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    DFW, TX.
    Posts
    2,180
    Post Likes
    This is all cool till the wires get to waving like snakes!!!

    Anyone ever seen wires wiggling like a snake?

    Sent from my LM-G820 using Tapatalk

  22. #16
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Bay Area California
    Posts
    30,707
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by CEAS-AC-TECH View Post
    This is all cool till the wires get to waving like snakes!!!

    Anyone ever seen wires wiggling like a snake?

    Sent from my LM-G820 using Tapatalk
    Not very often, and not for very long!
    I do a triple evac with nitro to remove non condensables.

  23. Likes CEAS-AC-TECH liked this post.
  24. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    DFW, TX.
    Posts
    2,180
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by BBeerme View Post
    Not very often, and not for very long!
    Damn right not for long

    Sent from my LM-G820 using Tapatalk

  25. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    2,226
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by ehsx View Post
    Tech told me once he knew how may strands & gauge of wire to use if he didn't have a replacement fuse.
    That is in a table at the back of the NEC. No joke.
    If "I have always done it this way" is a good reason to do it again, how many times do I have to do something wrong - before it becomes right?

  26. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Maple Grove, MN
    Posts
    3,917
    Post Likes
    Last summer I was told that a couple of residential type air conditioners that we installed were finally wired up by the electricians and ready to start. My apprentice and I got there to find pull-out style fused disconnects, with no fuses in them. I went to my truck and got a piece of 1/2" copper and cut up some pieces and jammed them in there and pushed the things back into the disconnects. My apprentice's eyes got really big as he stood there quiet and just kind of stared at me weird. Kind of like this...

    I had him go thru superheat and subcooling and fine tune the charge while I walked off to do some other stuff. Shortly later my phone rang and it was my boss asking if I really did what I did.

    I had to explain that it was temporary and I had planned to go get some fuses, I really just wanted to see what the apprentice would say. I also mentioned that they didn't even really need the fuses, since the breakers were the right size. He yelled at me and told me to go get the stupid fuses.

    I then tried to explain to the apprentice that my home made fuses were alright since the breakers were the correct size. He wasn't buying it. He just kept saying "yeah, but that's not right, you can't do that". He's a good kid, one of the best apprentices that I've seen in a while.

    If at First You Don't Succeed, Skydiving Is Not for You.

  27. #20
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Bay Area California
    Posts
    30,707
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Several decades ago I found a disconnect like that, you could tell the copper had been in there a long time. Called the boss and told him, he told me to tell him the size of the breaker and wire. I did, and he said it was fine. Some time later I realized it was no different than a disconnect with knife blades and no fuse clips.

    Sort of funny, it seems I drive by that building every few years, and you can see the unit. Roof has a new unit now. I always wonder if they installed a new disconnect.


    Quote Originally Posted by ammoniadog View Post
    Last summer I was told that a couple of residential type air conditioners that we installed were finally wired up by the electricians and ready to start. My apprentice and I got there to find pull-out style fused disconnects, with no fuses in them. I went to my truck and got a piece of 1/2" copper and cut up some pieces and jammed them in there and pushed the things back into the disconnects. My apprentice's eyes got really big as he stood there quiet and just kind of stared at me weird. Kind of like this...

    I had him go thru superheat and subcooling and fine tune the charge while I walked off to do some other stuff. Shortly later my phone rang and it was my boss asking if I really did what I did.

    I had to explain that it was temporary and I had planned to go get some fuses, I really just wanted to see what the apprentice would say. I also mentioned that they didn't even really need the fuses, since the breakers were the right size. He yelled at me and told me to go get the stupid fuses.

    I then tried to explain to the apprentice that my home made fuses were alright since the breakers were the correct size. He wasn't buying it. He just kept saying "yeah, but that's not right, you can't do that". He's a good kid, one of the best apprentices that I've seen in a while.

    I do a triple evac with nitro to remove non condensables.

  28. Likes R600a, Gary Warren Jr liked this post.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •