Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Truck got robbed!!

Post Likes

Truck got robbed!!

While working late at a apartment complex some junkies managed to get away with my tool bags and a lot of stuff off my truck. I was within 30 feet of my truck but to busy working to realize what happened. My question for the forum is, has anybody else filled a insurance claim on stolen property and if so how much more did your premium go up? My insurance company is telling me that if I spend $600 on tools or the full $10,000 that I’m covered for, my rates will increase the same regardless and I find this hard to be true. I had all the name brands come up missing Yellow Jacket, Snap-on, Klein, Fluke, and the rest of them expensive names. Tools I’ve been collecting and buying for over 10 years now. I will say that I managed to get back most of my tools (without the help from authorities) but I still lack around $1,500 in missing equipment. Is that justifiable for making this claim? Just looking for some advice from fellow contractors. Thanks.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Post Likes
    They judge you on claims not dollar amount 1500 I probably wouldn't file but I keep a 1k deductible

Sent from my GM1915 using Tapatalk
    RTB Mechanical
    734-315-0064
    http://rtbmechanical.com

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by dkalasz View Post
    They judge you on claims not dollar amount 1500 I probably wouldn't file but I keep a 1k deductible

My deductible is $500 so it wouldn’t be hard to meet that but I figured the insurance company wants me to spend as much as I can so they can milk it out of me over time.

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by UrAverageAguy View Post
    My deductible is $500 so it wouldn’t be hard to meet that but I figured the insurance company wants me to spend as much as I can so they can milk it out of me over time.

They will I have no love of insurance

RTB Mechanical
    734-315-0064
    http://rtbmechanical.com