+ Reply to Thread

Thread: New Research: Ionizers are "Negative" for Health

Post Likes

New Research: Ionizers are "Negative" for Health

A recent study found that the negative air ions generated by air-cleaning ionizers have a harmful effect on humans. Specifically the researchers found an increase in a biomarker of systemic oxidative stress.

Although ionizers have the benefit of removing airborne particles, the researchers conclude that the benefits do not outweigh the negative effects. Here is a link to the abstract, which is in the Indoor Air Journal: https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/ina.12728

Bottom line: for removing particles, HEPA will be a better option.

p.s. I don't sell any air purifiers, I'm just an IAQ consultant!

Post Likes
    If China says it, it must be true!
    captain CO

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by IndoorAirNerd View Post
    A recent study found that the negative air ions generated by air-cleaning ionizers have a harmful effect on humans. Specifically the researchers found an increase in a biomarker of systemic oxidative stress.

Although ionizers have the benefit of removing airborne particles, the researchers conclude that the benefits do not outweigh the negative effects. Here is a link to the abstract, which is in the Indoor Air Journal: https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/ina.12728

Bottom line: for removing particles, HEPA will be a better option.

p.s. I don't sell any air purifiers, I'm just an IAQ consultant!
    What about virus, bacteria and voc remediation?

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

Post Likes
    good to know

Post Likes
    Prime is the idea of a filtered fresh air change in 3-5 hours to purge all of the indoor pollutants and renew oxygen when occupied. By maintaining <50%RH mold/mildew/dust mites/other biologicals are avoided.
    A well setup a/c combined with small whole house dehumidifier makes most homes healthy and comfortable.
    Regards Teddy Bear