+ Reply to Thread

Thread: The Lodge - high-end install thread (with pictures)

Post Likes

The Lodge - high-end install thread (with pictures)

I posted the orig. thread in another forum:

https://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread...with-pictures)

Feedback welcome.

Please respond to the original thread if you have any comments to post.

Thanks,
    -mark

Post Likes
    I can't respond to the thread since I'm not a Pro, but I would think that the foil tape adhesive joining the sections of bubble wrap on the ducts will eventually fail in an unconditioned attic. I would want all the foil tape on the ducts covered in mastic too. But I'm in Houston and tape by itself just doesn't seem to hold up in unconditioned attics here. Tape then mastic seems to be the best practice here.

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by jkau121 View Post
    I can't respond to the thread since I'm not a Pro, but I would think that the foil tape adhesive joining the sections of bubble wrap on the ducts will eventually fail in an unconditioned attic. I would want all the foil tape on the ducts covered in mastic too. But I'm in Houston and tape by itself just doesn't seem to hold up in unconditioned attics here. Tape then mastic seems to be the best practice here.
    Agree...

Our local code calls for mastic to totally cover any and all tape joints (and other places)...
    Mastic to be a minimum of 2MM thick (about the thickness of a nickel coin).

Personally... I would have cut one of the braces in the truss and added a couple of braces for strength...
    So I could mount the system vertically... just me...

We see nothing wrong with condensing furnaces in attics, even when the temps go below freezing...
    Simply have some steps one has to follow, to allow the unit to operate properly in that environment.

On the secondary drain of the coil... put a float switch in that hole...
    This all but eliminates the possibility of a condensate overflow in cooling mode.