Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Low Pressure vs. High Pressure Refrigerants

Post Likes

Exclamation Low Pressure vs. High Pressure Refrigerants

What are the advantages and disadvantages of using a low pressure refrigerant as compared to a high pressure refrigerant?
    I am currently a student and am wanting to learn why someone would choose one over the other. Thanks in advance.

Post Likes
    In my opinion it is all about situation. With the exception of the r22 phase out. The epa has said r22 is depleting our ozone, hence they are phasing it out and only a few refrigerants work in its place. 407c is a good retrofit, but 410A(higher pressure) is almost the new standard for creature comfort ac applications (but not a retrofit!!!) since they decided to phase out r22. Low pressure refrigerants are more for coolers/freezers. Others may chime in as well to further define, and I hope they do!

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by fdreher23 View Post
    What are the advantages and disadvantages of using a low pressure refrigerant as compared to a high pressure refrigerant?
    I am currently a student and am wanting to learn why someone would choose one over the other. Thanks in advance.
    Low pressure machines a less likely to leak refrigerant than high pressure, low pressure machines are easy to service and in many cases a sensor or seal can be replaced without evacuating the refrigerant, low pressure machines don't need to ASME stamped etc. I prefer to work on low pressure!
    There is not better place for the working men than the union! 100% UA the only HVAC union!

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Bombboy90 View Post
    Low pressure refrigerants are more for coolers/freezers. Others may chime in as well to further define, and I hope they do!
    I have never seen a low pressure cooler or freezer!
    There is not better place for the working men than the union! 100% UA the only HVAC union!

Post Likes