Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Utility Sink Drain Pipe Leak

Post Likes

Utility Sink Drain Pipe Leak

I've attached several photos to show where an old utility sink was removed and a new one was put in, however, the drain pipe on the new one leaks badly. In the pictures, where I've detached it is where it leaks. I'm a novice w/this stuff and just wondering what the fix is. It has a gasket as well but am I missing any parts? I've also attached pictures of the overall drain pipe setup.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Post Likes
    The tailpiece is too long and you have that part which is leaking installed wrong. Flip the part that's leaking end-for-end. Them cut off the tailpiece so that it fits into the socket of the U bend.

PHM
    ---------

Quote Originally Posted by shobuddy View Post
    I've attached several photos to show where an old utility sink was removed and a new one was put in, however, the drain pipe on the new one leaks badly. In the pictures, where I've detached it is where it leaks. I'm a novice w/this stuff and just wondering what the fix is. It has a gasket as well but am I missing any parts? I've also attached pictures of the overall drain pipe setup.
    PHM
    --------
    The conventional view serves to protect us from the painful job of Thinking

3. Likes dieseldude liked this post.
    Post Likes
    The sharp part of the gasket goes into the U part of the trap. If it is reversed it will leak. No "S". The gasket is just backwards. And twist it so you get a straight run to the trap.

You need a plumber, I looked back at your pictures and I just saw more issues. It is worth the money.....

If thinking was easy,
    everyone would do it!

Regarding Russian Roulette; five out of six players think it is a safe, enjoyable game!

"And I've been banned twice. What of it? If you aren't getting banned once every 3 years, you aren't trying." Brian8383

"it's actually 90 right now in this shaded area of satan's butthole." - HVAC_marc