Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: About to Purchase a Commercial HVAC Contractor Business. Big Mistake???

Post Likes

About to Purchase a Commercial HVAC Contractor Business. Big Mistake???

HVAC Owners and Managers, please I need the benefit of your experience:

I am considering purchasing a commercial HVAC contractor business from an owner who wishes to retire. I have ZERO experience managing an hvac contracting business, but this particular business appears to have experienced managers in place who can (hopefully) be relied on to run the business while I try to get up to speed. This fact alone (relying on people I don't know) is a risk in my mind. This firm does about 9-10M dollars in revenue a year, SDE this year of just under $1M, 20 or so employees, 10 or so trucks. The owner wants $2.6M for the business, out of which I will invest $500K of my own money and borrow the rest (~$2.5M including working cap). I am projecting EBIT of $700K post sale, which after debt repayments would leave me with a projected yearly net of just over $400K. I'd appreciate any comments you throw my way, but my specific questions are the following:

1) Do you consider HVAC contracting a low, medium, or high risk business in the current economic environment?
    2) Is this a good way to invest what is essentially my retirement? I just turned 50 and I consider this my last shot, if it goes wrong I am done as the bank will probably take everything.
    3) Is my projection of $700K too rosy, about right, or too pessimistic for an HVAC business of this size? (I realize I have provided limited data but that's where you experience comes in)
    4) As an engineer, I like HVAC work professionally. However, I am not doing this for the love but strictly for the money. If you have $1M in disposable cash at 50, would you risk it in this type of business or look elsewhere for better returns? I figure I'd do this for a max of another 10 years.