+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Hobart ov 500

Post Likes

Hobart ov 500

So I am an a refer ac tech but I have a question does the Hobart ov500 control the makeup air it looked like it through the schematic but the Hobart tech today told me it was a sparkey issue point is everywhere I check I have 115 going up but not all the way to the mua and the hood is sucking out alot of the stores conditioned air

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk

Post Likes
    In general, I've never seen a rack oven control any make-up air unit. All it had control of was the flue draft inducer, and on occation the overhanging hood fan if it was forced exhuast.

I looked over an earlier schematic, and don't see any provisions specifically for mua, although if you were to put a contactor coil on the flue's draft inducer motor's supply, you could turn on a mua unit when the burner was running, or put a contactor's coil on the oven's main fan contactor to control mua that way, so it runs when the oven is powered up.

You don't need mua for just the burner though, it's not continious or using a lot of air.

In a kitchen with my head stuck in an oven
    Post Likes
    Learned something new the other day about venting.

One of our three gas-heated rack ovens was down for a month or so to repair the rack lift system (Sveba Dahlen ovens). Our 2nd shift mechanical wiz-kid (I'll call him Mech) did all that. I'd merely done a small part by removing the torpedo burner and giving it a cleaning/refresh of new parts somewhere within that timeframe. I intentionally didn't alter any of the burner damper settings during that.

Those Swedish-made ovens have about 500 lbs of rebar in them as thermal mass, so they never actually entirely cool down from daily use. So, hot air is there when they're turned back on each morning. These ovens are naturally vented, so there's no draft inducer. Just a sizable draft hood to draw in dilution air when the burners fire up. The ovens were installed that way back in the '90s.