+ Reply to Thread

Thread: montague oven

Post Likes

montague oven

hey guys im still learning the kitchen field i have been in the hvac-r field for 5 years but just started doing kitchen equipment well im working on a montague oven keep having this issue where the pilot light keeps turning off thermocouple has been replaced also safety valve where the thermocouple goes to the weirdest thing is that pilot stay on as long as the oven is not being used but as soon as they start using it it stays on for like 30 min then it turns off m#2-115a(s) any input would really be appreciate thanks. oh yea there are also 3 other ovens of the same gas line and they are working just fine.

In a kitchen with my head stuck in an oven
    Post Likes
    The ovens might each have dedicated gas line regulators and the one for that oven may be on the fritz.

I suggest checking gas pressure to that oven. It may be dropping too much during main burner demands. That will cause a less intense pilot flame and eventually slowly lower the thermocouple output to below the lockout threshold of the pilot safety valve.

I also recommend ensuring the thermocouple is properly and securely installed into the pilot burner bracket. Here's why:

Although it's in the oven and gets very hot, only the last 1/3 of the thermocouple should get RED hot. That last 1/3 is the hot junction. Conversely, where the compression collar nut is - is the cold junction. The difference in temperature between those two points gives you your DC output.

The compression collar also serves as a heat sink for the cold junction and will dissipate heat to the pilot bracket and the heat shield that IT'S mounted to.