Thread: New Technician looking for Veteran advice on tools

Post Likes

New Technician looking for Veteran advice on tools

Hey all! My first post here on HT.com so please forgive any errors =)

Ive recently began my journey in a new carrer in HVAC, and having difficulties settling on which (two sets to avoid mixing) set of gauges I should pickup for a 'first set'. Ive asked around the shop, but sadly everyone suggests just picking up Fieldpiece digis....I personally prefer to save a little and go with something like YJ41s. I have no prior experience in this field and landed the job soley because I am an Army veteran! Any and all help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance!
    Bill

Post Likes
    Welcome to the site, and thank you for your service.
    Being new to the trade, don't spend a lot on tools just yet. Just pick up a basic set of gauges (I still use regular analog manifolds all the time BTW). You need to first figure out what all you'll need and what kind of work you'll be doing before you start investing. For example, I wouldn't tell you to buy expensive sheet metal tools if your going to be working on chillers all the time. Or tell you to buy ratchets and pipe wrenches if you'll be doing controls.
    Get enough to get by, get a little experiance, get a list going of what you want/need to do that job, then start investing.

Post Likes
    Yes, thanks for your service. I've been doing this for 30 years now and I still learn stuff from this site. Hang around or stop in once in awhile and you'll pick up all sorts of good tips.

I'm old school, and still am using the 'old fashion' analog gauges. They're inexpensive to both buy and repair. Rider77's post above is right on, go easy on buying tools in the beginning. And don't feel like you need to buy the absolute best stuff out there. You'll have plenty of time to upgrade as the years roll by.