Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Commercial freezer evaporator fans not turning on

Post Likes

Commercial freezer evaporator fans not turning on

Sup experts, and hello! I work as a maintenance man for a chain of restaurants and I fix everything from refrigeration equipment to deep fryers.

Today I got a call for a freezer that's built to the side of the walk in cooler, compressor is running but evaporator fans ain't budging. Checked the voltage with the fieldpiece, 2 hot wires (120v each), forgot to check if the current returned through N. I did notice some wires that went to the side of the TXV valve on the right side of the evaporator coil, is this another thermostat or something? I had a similar problem with a lowboy freezer with a cursed thermostat that was wrapped around the low pressure line and it shut off the fan in the middle of operation and made the coil freeze up. Still, I'm having my doubts, the system is a hot mess, the wires are floating everywhere and are only being held by the almighty and some zip ties.

So... any suggestions before I get there tomorrow?

Post Likes
    The wiring diagram is where i would start at.

3. Likes Luckydog1 liked this post.
    Post Likes
    Ain't there no more... also, I noticed the mechanical defrost timer does not shut off the compressor and condenser fan.

Post Likes
    Possibly the fan delay, or its' wiring.

Remember in your readings that you're dealing with a 230v circuit.

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by superbanana View Post
    Ain't there no more... also, I noticed the mechanical defrost timer does not shut off the compressor and condenser fan.
    Did you give it time to pumpdown?

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by IRBH View Post
    Did you give it time to pumpdown?