Thread: What design software would YOU like?

Post Likes

Confused What design software would YOU like?

-- This is a chance to express your most insane dreams and frustrations! ---

Hello there,

I'm currently juggling with the idea of making a professional design software for HVAC controls.
    However, as development takes time, I would like to get a clear idea of what are the most important features I should implement first.

-- Bio --

First off, a little about me. I have a degree in mechanical engineering and worked professionally in the HVAC/control world most of my professional career.
    I also developed some (free!) BACnet softwares and some professional services around it https://bacnethelp.com/how-to/wacnet.
    http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread....1#post16847431

I worked many years for a control company as a system designer. By the time I left, I had built myself some pretty kickass design
    software that was automatically generating PDFs ready to be validated by engineering firms, a complete build of materials, a list of tags to print...
    The software is still in use today, many years after, with even the possibility of being added to other divisions.

That being said, with hindsight I now know of a few little things I should have done differently.

--- end of bio ---

Back to the design software.
    Here are grossly what features I have in mind:

• Complete HTML5 interface;
    • Being able to reuse the same diagrams between quotation, design and user interface;
    • Build of materials (obviously);
    • Rules based design (don't let the user plug a 0-10v temperature sensor on a controller output);
    • Multi-window support;
    • Version control (browse previous version of your project, not just the last save);

The point of all this is to reuse the information added at each step and get the most out of it.

Let me give you a simple example.
    You have a system diagram in your project and you design your IOs.