Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Likes

Advise on ride-along tomorrow

Hi, I'm currently a college student enrolled in a HVAC-R program and scheduled to do a ride-along with a local company tomorrow (11-22). I would like to make a good impression and get the most out of the experience. I plan on dressing professionally, bringing safety glasses and gloves but would like to know if I should bring any other supplies. I would also like any advise anyone can give me so I can go in prepared and make the experience meaningful enjoyable for everyone.

Post Likes
    Bring a pen and paper and keep your ears and eyes open. A ride along can be an invaluable tool for you as you learn the trade. If you don't understand what he is doing while troubleshooting, then ask. Most people love to talk about themselves and teach. Good luck to you.

Post Likes
    Thank you, I will.

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Kurtis M View Post
    Thank you, I will.
    knee pads! Ive never heard of ride alongs on hvac. I have done them in the fire service and the police used to do it. Let us know how it goes, dont be afraid to ask questions, just dont get carried away and bug the tech, but the company should have you paired with someone who is willing to teach and answer questions, so ask away and enjoy.Also if you have a mechanical or construction background you could even be a help, to go get things/tools and such.Maybe even include a tape measure(if your proficient with it) with the other things mentioned. Dont forget to post back to update us.

Post Likes
    Safety glasses, cap (might not wear it at first, until you see if the tech wears a cap), ear plugs (in pocket), pencil and paper, cell phone with camera (ask before taking a picture... for your education of course--and turn the ringer off), knee pads (probably gonna get in some dirt), and the gloves.

Be ready to be helpful as asked to... yet maybe not too eager. Best to understand quickly what the tech wants... and follow.