Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 40
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    State College, PA
    Posts
    2,454
    Post Likes

    Victory VF-1 Single Door Freezer

    Any one have any idea of the correct cap tube size for a Victory VF-1 single door freezer?

    Someone has replaced the cap tube and it has not kept temp since.

    I could not find nothing on Victory web site. I called their tech support and was told 14' of .036. Just sounds a long. Can anyone verify if this is correct or not?

    Thanks for any help.
    Can someone please explain to me -
    Why is there never enough time to do it right the first time, but plenty of time to do it twice?


    Please view site rules: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=1241

    Apply for Pro Membership: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=116113

    Find your local HVAC-Talk Contractor: http://hvac-talk.com/aop

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Yakima, WA
    Posts
    1,845
    Post Likes
    http://www.supco.com/images/pdfs/Cap...0Reference.pdf

    I've always had good luck with supco bullet cap tubes. Use the chart and it will work. It will likely be different from the factory cap tube.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Guayaquil, EC
    Posts
    13,873
    Post Likes
    I've had good luck using the Supco charts as well, but sometimes a little educated guessing helps.

    The Victory VF-1 is listed as having a 1/3 HP R404A compressor. According to the Supco chart, this would call for 30" of BC-1 (.031") capillary tube, which is too short by some recommendations.

    In this case I would go to the next larger size Supco cap tube and use a conversion chart or calculator to resize it. JB Industries has a good chart which I have attached.

    The Educational Forums has a handy online calculator for resizing cap tubes:


    The calculator results in 97" of BC-2 (.040"), which I think would be more suitable.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Chandler AZ
    Posts
    177
    Post Likes
    Try Case Parts (800)421-0271 .I ordered a lot of parts from them .They always get the orders right .

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    16,150
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by icemeister View Post
    The calculator results in 97" of BC-2 (.040"), which I think would be more suitable.
    icemeister,
    Looking at your results i would say his 14' of .036 is correct. I do like the idea of using the larger bore for obvious reasons. What say you ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    st.petersburg,fl
    Posts
    846
    Post Likes

    Lightbulb

    VTP99 - The reason Ice went to the next larger size is because @ 14 feet you are really close to the length limits of a useable cap tube and the 30 inches spoken about earlier is on the beginning length limits of a useable cap tube...

    As an example compressor superheat has a minimun of 20* - 40*


    Hope this Helps ...
    Isn't sanity just a one-trick pony anyway? I mean, all you get is that one trick, rational thinking, but when you're good and crazy, well, the sky's the limit!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    State College, PA
    Posts
    2,454
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter

    Thanks for the great support & help

    Well, I put in what the mfg. suggested - 14' of .036. Had to buy a 100' roll. Hope we find another box for it.

    Anyway, find out the compressor in this thing is 1hp. Made in Slovakia. Not sure where that is. Looks like someone was displaying some handy work of refer rehab.

    Got it down to 10°F within 30 minutes. Had another call and will stop back tomorrow. The suction was around 25# which seamed OK but the head was a little high at 300#. It was R-404a. Superheat between 10 and 40 depending on how long since I opened the door to check temp, but mostly stayed around 25-28. Discharge was on the hot side around 160°F.

    I was thinking with that 1hp compressor, I may have the wrong size cap tube in after all. OOPS!

    I have not done much with cap tube systems. So I am learning that. Much prefer TXV but I think once I understand the cap tube system a little more I can give it some respect too.

    By the way, I think I need a thermometer that I can check the box temp without opening the door. Any ideas? What do you guys use?
    Can someone please explain to me -
    Why is there never enough time to do it right the first time, but plenty of time to do it twice?


    Please view site rules: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=1241

    Apply for Pro Membership: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=116113

    Find your local HVAC-Talk Contractor: http://hvac-talk.com/aop

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Yakima, WA
    Posts
    1,845
    Post Likes
    Educate me... why is there a min and max useable length of cap tube? Pressure drop is pressure drop, no? Is it an oil thing? Fixed orifice metering on an AC unit is less than 1/2 inch long...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Guayaquil, EC
    Posts
    13,873
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by VTP99 View Post
    icemeister,
    Looking at your results i would say his 14' of .036 is correct. I do like the idea of using the larger bore for obvious reasons. What say you ?
    If you go by the Supco chart selection (30" of .031") and resize using the calculator I posted, a .036" cap tube would only need to be 60" long.

    Interestingly, this demonstrates how much the bore affects the length. That little .005" increase in ID doubled the length required.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Guayaquil, EC
    Posts
    13,873
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by joemach View Post
    Well, I put in what the mfg. suggested - 14' of .036. Had to buy a 100' roll. Hope we find another box for it.

    Anyway, find out the compressor in this thing is 1hp. Made in Slovakia. Not sure where that is. Looks like someone was displaying some handy work of refer rehab.

    Got it down to 10°F within 30 minutes. Had another call and will stop back tomorrow. The suction was around 25# which seamed OK but the head was a little high at 300#. It was R-404a. Superheat between 10 and 40 depending on how long since I opened the door to check temp, but mostly stayed around 25-28. Discharge was on the hot side around 160°F.

    I was thinking with that 1hp compressor, I may have the wrong size cap tube in after all. OOPS!

    I have not done much with cap tube systems. So I am learning that. Much prefer TXV but I think once I understand the cap tube system a little more I can give it some respect too.

    By the way, I think I need a thermometer that I can check the box temp without opening the door. Any ideas? What do you guys use?
    I find it hard to believe there's a 1 hp compressor in that 1 door freezer. What's the compressor model number, Joe?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    State College, PA
    Posts
    2,454
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter

    Wow

    Quote Originally Posted by icemeister View Post
    If you go by the Supco chart selection (30" of .031") and resize using the calculator I posted, a .036" cap tube would only need to be 60" long.

    Interestingly, this demonstrates how much the bore affects the length. That little .005" increase in ID doubled the length required.
    Boy that is interesting!

    Never would have figured that.

    I thought this was all math & science. The math doesn't add up. But it must otherwise it wouldn't work.

    The more I learn the more I find I don't know.

    Holy Cow.
    Can someone please explain to me -
    Why is there never enough time to do it right the first time, but plenty of time to do it twice?


    Please view site rules: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=1241

    Apply for Pro Membership: http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=116113

    Find your local HVAC-Talk Contractor: http://hvac-talk.com/aop

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    st.petersburg,fl
    Posts
    846
    Post Likes

    Lightbulb

    Should have a 1/3 HP compressor in it...

    Last one I did I converted it over to TEV when cap tube got restricted also remoted it due to location but thats another story due to location ... in an IHOP under a hood ....it never had a chance

    You should have converted it and saved yourself alot of headaches....
    Isn't sanity just a one-trick pony anyway? I mean, all you get is that one trick, rational thinking, but when you're good and crazy, well, the sky's the limit!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Guayaquil, EC
    Posts
    13,873
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by cjpwalker View Post
    Educate me... why is there a min and max useable length of cap tube? Pressure drop is pressure drop, no? Is it an oil thing? Fixed orifice metering on an AC unit is less than 1/2 inch long...
    The best way to explain it is you should read the JB Industries attachments I posted earlier today. It has a graph which relates the cap tube length to the flow rate (or capacity).

    To sum up what it says, over a certain length, the capacity doesn't really change...and under a certain length, it also doesn't change.

    If you cut the length down to near zero ( like 1/2") you essentially have an orifice...or what is called short tube flow.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •