Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    5
    Post Likes

    geothermal noise / shipping bolts?

    I am getting some vibrations in an attic install that are really noisy. Everyone says to check the shipping bolts.

    Are these shipping bolts?




  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Spud Country
    Posts
    326
    Post Likes
    Yes sir... The one on the right. Not the compressor bolt.
    I am an experienced, caring, trusted, service provider who solves my customers issues beyond there expectations by educating them and guiding them with value-building options to make excellent buying decisions while building security and wealth for my company, myself and my family.

  3. Likes Nuclrchiller liked this post
  4. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    5
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Well I just looked at it with a technician. He moved the control board and showed me the hole and sticker labeled "shipping bolt" (already removed) and was neither of these bolts. Not sure what to do next, but I know we still need further vibration isolation.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Spud Country
    Posts
    326
    Post Likes
    I would bet not all the shipping bolts are removed. Your compressor should be floating on springs or isolation pads and should move easily.
    I am an experienced, caring, trusted, service provider who solves my customers issues beyond there expectations by educating them and guiding them with value-building options to make excellent buying decisions while building security and wealth for my company, myself and my family.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    5
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Oldschoolmetal, thanks for the help. The manual states there is only one bolt:

    "Prior to setting the unit in place, remove and discard the compressor hold down
    shipping bolt located at the front of the compressor mounting bracket."

    The unit is sitting on nine 3" thick foam blocks which are sitting inside a metal drain pan, which is sitting on the attic floor, which is directly above my kitchen.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    5
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Posts
    126
    Post Likes

    Perfect example

    of why we don't set heat pumps in the attic...

    Bergy

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Baltimore
    Posts
    63
    Post Likes
    I bet that was fun,dragging a Water Furnace into your attic.Really,it should be sitting on a plastic pad,too but I doubt that will help the vibration.I installed one a few years ago-a downflow in a closet.We sat it on 3 sheets of that foam block with the center cut out and a piece of duct through them.It was quiet as a mouse,but what a PITA to install.My helper was like"where does the canvas go?"lol

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    northern Indiana
    Posts
    114
    Post Likes
    The unit is sitting on nine 3" thick foam blocks which are sitting inside a metal drain pan, which is sitting on the attic floor, which is directly above my kitchen.

    I would use 1 piece to support the entire bottom of the cabinet.

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort Wayne, Indiana
    Posts
    97
    Post Likes
    sbinnc,

    Unfortunately, noise is difficult to resolve over the internet. If your contractor is unable to find a resolution, please have him contact our technical support staff, as they will be more than happy to offer their assistance.

    WaterFurnace International, Inc.

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Russell ON Canada
    Posts
    24
    Post Likes
    You might still have noise even after removing the bolt. Really, it's just the sound of money (that's what my installer always says).

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    33
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Bergy View Post
    of why we don't set heat pumps in the attic...

    Bergy
    Exactly.....ever consider hanging unit from roof? Sounds extreme, but that way you can isolate it completely.

  14. #13
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    82
    Post Likes
    Is there a reason why no one has asked him to jiggle the compressor manually by hand and if it bounces around all over the place the shipping bolts are removed.. and if its as solid as a rock then the shipping bolts is in place no matter what the tech told you. .and i agree with the first post.. the bolt on the right looks like a shipping bolt and the one on the left is a compressor bolt.. Didn't your technician shake the compressor to show you how nicely its suspendend on springs.. simple quick test...
    I have had 3 water to air installed in the last 30 days in the same house and i had to order them to come back and remove the shipping bolts.. and on the last one the tech said they had removed them... a bold faced lie.. so i called the company president and told him to get someone out to remove the shipping bolts or come get the unit.. He came personally with a tech to remove them for the third time in 30 days.. you would think that after calling 2 times to get them out on the third install they would have made sure.. WRONG!
    Last edited by govtom; 07-28-2018 at 07:28 PM. Reason: added last line.

  15. Likes kdean1, Nuclrchiller liked this post
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •