+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Shower is sometimes hot and sometimes just warm?

Post Likes

Shower is sometimes hot and sometimes just warm?

We recently moved into a new house, went from owning to renting for a year. Anyway sometimes the master bathroom shower is very hot, sometimes it's just warm or barely warm. We had a plumber in to fix or adjust the "scald valve" I think it's called. Before that or was always just warm, now it's like I said sometimes hot to really hot but more times than not it's warm to borderline cool. Not refreshing at that temp. What could cause that as all the other faucets and the other shower is as hot as can be? Not the water heater right? Thanks for any help.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk

Post Likes
    I used to be a plumber and most of the time this problem was caused by single handle faucets. With a single handle faucet the hot a cold lines come together near the cartridge. This can cause the cold to cross over to the hot side. Try closing the angle stops for your lav sinks and test this for a couple days

3. Likes HVACannoyed liked this post.
    Post Likes
    i have a feeling you have a tankless hot water system that the flow was not dialed in/adjusted correctly..or there is a problem with the sensor in the unit...that needs to be looked at...i have an electric tankless in my home where i can select the heat temp output to not scald and it is fully modulating to adjust to incoming water temps..

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by James Colver View Post
    I used to be a plumber and most of the time this problem was caused by single handle faucets. With a single handle faucet the hot a cold lines come together near the cartridge. This can cause the cold to cross over to the hot side. Try closing the angle stops for your lav sinks and test this for a couple days