+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Poor IAQ - High CO2 - Seeking Recommendations for system setup ERV/Scuttle/etc

Post Likes

Poor IAQ - High CO2 - Seeking Recommendations for system setup ERV/Scuttle/etc

Howdy Folks,
    I've been fighting my home IAQ for a few years. Likely caused a lot of my own problems even Posting here for some feedback on possible options and new system configurations. I've searched or years for contractors to help with these issues without luck. Most say they don't have the tools/training and the others aren't in area or are commercial focused. Thank you for your experience!

Issues:
    1) Increased CO2 overnight near 1200ppm, would prefer a lot lower. using Airthings waveplus devices. 1 in secondary story master, 1 in basement. CO2 is fairly even between the two sensors.
    --Does not correlate with temperature. Locking up the house, setting the furnace to 76 and leaving for a few hours didn't create a noticeable impact on CO2 levels
    2) Basement draws in cooking smells, etc from first floor (kitchen is near stairwell) even when exhaust fan is on
    3) Humidity seems to continually creep up
    3) Energy usage/bills seems to keep rising

Setup:
    People & Pets - 2 adults. 1 raging 2yr old, a 2mo old, and a giant mastiff.
    Location - Madison WI. House built in 1990. 2 Story. Partially finished basement. 2274sq ft total. 1826 considered livable space
    Home Envelope - All new quality windows, proper insulations, air sealing. Tight home via blower door testing confirmation a few years back. Bath Vents are all probably larger than they need to be. One bath vent on first story off kitchen is hard wired to light switch (yep, i take away the should i or shouldn't I poop exhaust option for company -lol). Good exterior drainage/downspouts/sloping. Very shady lot overall. House is only hit with sun in very early morning and very late afternoon.
    Furnace - Bryant Plus 90 350MAV, installed 3-3-05