+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 4.9 Jar signing??

Post Likes

4.9 Jar signing??

What's everyone think about this moving forward? I see there is a signing tool in 4.9, but also hear in 4.10 no self signed jars will be allowed. My head spins with all the jobs I've done with the Vykon Jars, AX community, and others. This seems like a massive pain in the a**. I'm not a certificate expert, is this that important that individual jars are signed? What is the push for this? Is it the IT world pushing security, and our device on their network needs to conform? What is the thought in 4.10 if we want to use the AX community jars? I understand they won't be providing signed jars. Companies with have to get a CA to sign these things? What is the most useable thing moving forward? Let's go back to AX please! LOL

2. Likes ems4ty liked this post.
    Post Likes
    It seems like a real PITA, the AX community module is in everthing I use. I have no idea how to compile these things either. There must ne someone on here from tridium that can help

4. Likes ems4ty liked this post.
    Post Likes
    Various sites have some information on signing modules, try this for a starting poit:
    https://know.innon.com/how-to-self-s...or-niagara-4.9

Controls is a lifestyle not a job

Post Likes
    yup, did this but still get alarms in application director because they are still self signed...

7. Likes ems4ty liked this post.
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Norriski Tech View Post
    This seems like a massive pain in the a**.
    Its really only a hassle for AX com and any custom program objects. Most everything else will be signed by the developers assuming its maintained.

What is the push for this?
    Boiled down, its to try and make sure no malware is running on the station.

Companies with have to get a CA to sign these things?