Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Its not a Goodman!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Oklahoma home its in the name
    Posts
    3,404
    Post Likes

    Its not a Goodman!

    In the last picture the shiny area around the top of the coil box is just foil tape.
    There are so many things wrong i don't know what to do.
    The rain water has been running down the exhaust pipe and seized the inducer and everything is rusty. Also the uninsulated tape condenses moisture which runs down into the furnace and rusts everything.

    Sent from the Okie state usin Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Bay Area, Ca
    Posts
    764
    Post Likes
    Guardian... may as well be Goodman. Round these parts if its a hacked install there's a more than good chance its a goodman(cheap=more money). We have been seeing alot of Guardian popping up that I could assume was installed by the same Goodman installers...as for the furnace in question. I would probably replace it. I have a few pic's to go by and a mild description. At what point will the parts and labor overrun the new install?

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Oklahoma home its in the name
    Posts
    3,404
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by Zamoramax View Post
    Guardian... may as well be Goodman. Round these parts if its a hacked install there's a more than good chance its a goodman(cheap=more money). We have been seeing alot of Guardian popping up that I could assume was installed by the same Goodman installers...as for the furnace in question. I would probably replace it. I have a few pic's to go by and a mild description. At what point will the parts and labor overrun the new install?

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
    Exactly.
    I will have to bring the boss back to make a decision on it but my inclination is change it out. They didn't do anything right. It isn't even inspected.

    Sent from the Okie state usin Tapatalk

  4. Likes Zamoramax liked this post.
  5. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Ontari-ari-ari-o
    Posts
    1,868
    Post Likes
    Yep. That's the local brand around here for side jobs and handymen because the supplier will sell them over the counter to anybody without requiring an account or even a gas license. They aren't bad units either I had one in my basement before a flood took it out and I replaced it with a Rheem.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    SouthEast NC ICW & Piedmont Foothills
    Posts
    8,022
    Post Likes
    Inducer and heat exchanger cost + labor should get you in the neighborhood of new furnace $$$.
    It`s better to be silent and thought the fool; than speak and remove all doubt.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Oklahoma home its in the name
    Posts
    3,404
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    I sent the boss's son back to make the decision on this and he decided it needed a new vent pipe and inducer motor. Well I don't agree with him it's not my license on the line. So I pulled out the old vent pipe and discovered this. AmeriVent to duravent obviously doesn't hold together very well so just add screws. I'm pretty sure they went into this job with the thought of let's see how many rules we can break on one install.

    Sent from the Okie state usin Tapatalk

  8. Likes Zamoramax liked this post.
  9. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Vancouver, B.C.
    Posts
    1,161
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by R600a View Post
    I sent the boss's son back to make the decision on this and he decided it needed a new vent pipe and inducer motor. Well I don't agree with him it's not my license on the line. So I pulled out the old vent pipe and discovered this. AmeriVent to duravent obviously doesn't hold together very well so just add screws. I'm pretty sure they went into this job with the thought of let's see how many rules we can break on one install.

    Sent from the Okie state usin Tapatalk
    Did those screws actually puncture the inner liner? I’m pretty sure you can screw into B-vent but you need to use the 1/4” screws so it won’t puncture or contact the aluminum.
    Quickly, I must hurry, for there go my people and I am their leader!

  10. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    Oklahoma home its in the name
    Posts
    3,404
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by thatguy View Post
    Did those screws actually puncture the inner liner? I’m pretty sure you can screw into B-vent but you need to use the 1/4” screws so it won’t puncture or contact the aluminum.
    I don't know but you can't connect two different brands without using a slip connection.

    Sent from the Okie state usin Tapatalk

  11. Likes thatguy liked this post.
  12. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Vancouver, B.C.
    Posts
    1,161
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by R600a View Post
    I don't know but you can't connect two different brands without using a slip connection.

    Sent from the Okie state usin Tapatalk
    They probably thought it was cause the damn thing kept slippin out!
    Quickly, I must hurry, for there go my people and I am their leader!

  13. Likes R600a liked this post.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •