Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    272
    Post Likes
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Installing disconnect switch on Mitsubishi PKA Indoor Unit.

    Im trying to remember and cant find it in the install docs, when installing a disconnect for the indoor head do you want a 2 pole or 3 pole? I know if its the wrong pole every time you shut off the indoor unit it will cause an error.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    "The bitterness of poor quality remains long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten". --Benjamin Franklin

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Medford, N.Y.
    Posts
    6,933
    Post Likes
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    3 pole.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    71
    Post Likes
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In my area I have not had to install any inside disconnect for mini's.
    If the power disconnect at the outside unit is lockable then that covers the service work on the inside unit.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Medford, N.Y.
    Posts
    6,933
    Post Likes
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Around some of these here parts, some Inspectors want/wanted "a means of Disconnect" at the indoor unit. We installed a 3p switch,it KindaSorta looks a regular light switch. Just bigger'er! I think it was mounted in a 1900 box or was it a 4+11/32 box?

  5. Likes alliedtech12887 liked this post.
  6. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    272
    Post Likes
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by RLJN View Post
    In my area I have not had to install any inside disconnect for mini's.
    If the power disconnect at the outside unit is lockable then that covers the service work on the inside unit.
    Yea they changed the code around here for commercial buildings, they require a means of killing power to the indoor units.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    "The bitterness of poor quality remains long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten". --Benjamin Franklin

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold, NY
    Posts
    28,214
    Post Likes
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by alliedtech12887 View Post
    Yea they changed the code around here for commercial buildings, they require a means of killing power to the indoor units.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    If a Lockable means is supplied at the outdoor unit the switch is not needed!

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Coastal South Carolina
    Posts
    343
    Post Likes
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mitsubishi used to have those 3 pole switches listed. I Installed a few years ago but last jobs have not used them. Most supply houses in our area don't have them in stock and look at you funny when you try to order one.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Houston TX
    Posts
    78
    Post Likes
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Part# TAZ-MS303W Mitsubishi 3pole switch.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Saint Pail, Minnesota
    Posts
    826
    Post Likes
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Lddc View Post
    Part# TAZ-MS303W Mitsubishi 3pole switch.
    That’s a nice $90 switch

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Houston TX
    Posts
    78
    Post Likes
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Haha, it sure is. Then again its Mitsubishi, nothing is cheap with that logo. Any 20/30amp 3 pole switch will do the job.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •