Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Post Likes

Anyone voluntarily not working?

So as the thread title implies, im not working voluntarily. Im in an area of TX that is currently in full lockdown “essential services only” My employers are running full-tilt on early A/C pm’s and I am trying to reason with them that they are putting us at increased unnecessary risk for exposure to this
    Covid-19 virus. Broken units I get but not maintenance, not right now... I want to hear what others think about this and if anyone feels the same. Extraordinary measures are being taken at the office to avoid contact with each other and “stop the spread” measures, yet were expected to open evap coils and blower compartments as if its like nothing! What y’all think?

Post Likes
    I’m not an expert by any means. But I don’t think working on equipment is that risky. Your employer is trying to keep the guys working. If you aren’t comfortable I’d let the boss know you would like a lay-off or reduced hours. We have made it clear to our guys they can take time off if they want too.

Post Likes
    I don’t think it lasts that long in the air to make it to a piece of air handling equipment, then live long enough in the unit for you to wonder along, open the unit and contract the virus.
    We are doing whatever we can at the moment to keep going. A lot of sites are shut down. Not really enough work to go around to give everyone full weeks. Some guys have been forced into layoffs. Some residential companies are going into hibernation until things start going back to normal. If you have work I’d feel very lucky.
    “I haven’t failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.” - Thomas Edison

“It’s not whether you get knocked down, it’s whether you get up.” - Vince Lombardi

"In this house we obey the laws of thermodynamics" - Homer Simpson

Local 486 Instructor & Service Technician

Post Likes

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk