Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Northeast
    Posts
    636
    Post Likes

    Question Digital manometer fluctuations

    Who is using digital manometers for checking gas pressures? I have UEI and Fieldpiece. Both fluctuate readings which make it difficult to get an accurate measurement. It is like they need a surge chamber or something. The technology is just not there yet to dampen out the readings and provide an accurate average.

    I have the Fieldpiece SDMN5 and the SDMN6

    I have 2 of the UEI EM151

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    206
    Post Likes
    I have the testo 510. Ive used it for 5 years or more now. I like it. Its great for residential. If you need something for a larger range, I like the Dwyer 475. It will measure up to 5#s.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Northeast
    Posts
    636
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by HAWK 87 View Post
    I have the testo 510. I’ve used it for 5 years or more now. I like it. It’s great for residential. If you need something for a larger range, I like the Dwyer 475. It will measure up to 5#s.
    Do you use it on gas? I do not see anything saying it is used for anything but air.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    206
    Post Likes
    Yes

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    columbus, OH
    Posts
    7,042
    Post Likes
    They are accurate enough, my question would be what would you achieve by having this gained accuracy?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Northeast
    Posts
    636
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by Core_d View Post
    They are accurate enough, my question would be what would you achieve by having this gained accuracy?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Its not they are not accurate. The reading bounces. I just want a stable reading. Right now I try to look at the higher readings and lower then pick the middle when taking my numbers for my notes. It is annoying. I would rather not have to.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Salt Lake City/Tooele
    Posts
    5,431
    Post Likes
    Use a snubber.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Northeast
    Posts
    636
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by slctech View Post
    Use a snubber.
    One for a water pressure gauge? Those are all I am aware of.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Dover, DE
    Posts
    11,847
    Post Likes
    I have the SDMN6, this hasn’t been an issue.
    I’ve used it for Modine Atherion commissions, where I have to read accurately down to 0.25”.
    I havent failed. Ive just found 10,000 ways that wont work. - Thomas Edison

    Its not whether you get knocked down, its whether you get up. - Vince Lombardi

    "In this house we obey the laws of thermodynamics" - Homer Simpson

    Local 486 Instructor & Service Technician

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Salt Lake City/Tooele
    Posts
    5,431
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Push It View Post
    One for a water pressure gauge? Those are all I am aware of.
    No different, fluid is fluid whether air or gas. I deal with all types of fluctuating and erractic measurements whether nitrogen, air, natural gas, argon, CO2, etc. Thinking something revelent to our industry would maybe be trying to read the outlet gas pressure of a Lennox or Fulton Pulse, without a snubber your gas pressure readings with a digital manometer would be all over the place, with a snubber your readings are stabilized.

  11. Likes Push It liked this post.
  12. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    56
    Post Likes
    They all bounce around a bit i have used UEI fieldpiece and testo. Its not the fact that there not accurate its that there too accurate that is why your readings are all over the place. Make sure that when your taking your readings that you mount the manometer flat on something or set it in one stop and try to keep it there. (most have a magnet on the back) and the biggest thing is to always zero it out before you take any readings.

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    columbus, OH
    Posts
    7,042
    Post Likes
    How much bounce are we talking here?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Contracting Business
HPAC Engineering
EC&M
CONTRACTOR