Post Likes

5 amp fuse constantly blows

Hi guys! My name is Sunny and I’m new to this site and I just want to say first off that I truly appreciate any response and feedback that I receive! I’m a Maintenance Technician at a apartment community where I live and right now I have an issue where a resident’s 5 amp fuse on the board in their air handler continues to blow every few hours. It doesn’t blow immediately and their heat will work for a few hours but it will eventually blow again. Any advice on diagnosing this issue will be greatly appreciated! Thanks a lot!

Post Likes
    Is this a heat pump system. If so, have you checked the outdoor unit.
    Contractor locator map

How-to-apply-for-Professional

How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Post Likes
    If that's a heat pump, it sounds like a short in either the defrost or maybe second stage heat. Might try manually tripping a defrost cycle and see what it gives you. Hopefully it would at least allow you to replicate the issue to trace it

Post Likes
    You need a good amp meter around the fused line and then start cycling all the components, if nothing shows a high amp draw, start looking at all the control wiring for chafing or bare spots.
    UA Local 32 retired as of Jan 2020

Post Likes
    You have a intermittent short. As has been said it may be from water getting on a wire during defrost. It could be from a vibration against metal, etc. Get out your shovel cause the only way to find this is to "dig" into it. If it were constant it would be fairly easy to track down. Being intermittent you will almost have to live with it till it happens. As said you may be able to run the system in all it's modes but trying to shorten the time frame may not let all the components of the short come together. You may be able to get creative with smaller fuses to isolate the problem but can't go into particulars on an open forum.

6. Likes Dhumphries82 liked this post.
    Post Likes