Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Likes

Best practices for systems slightly low on R410a

I would like a little advice on what is best practices for coming upon a system that is moderately low (30degree evaporator) on 410a. My practices thus far for systems missing up to 20% of their charge is to soap Schraders/service valves, txv, inspect condenser coil & evaporator for signs of oil, and if nothing is apparent to let the customer know what a full leak test will cost & let them know that I can top off charge just one time. I try and prepare customer for the eventuality of having a full leak check performed & that topping off the charge is just a temporary solution.

I am a 3rd year apprentice in Oregon state program and also have a 2yr degree from Walla Walla community college. Every day I learn something new & I want to do the right thing always. Appreciate the shared wisdom

Post Likes
    Why can you only top off one time?

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by pecmsg View Post
    Because his conscience says he's wasting there money the second time. Even though we know that's not up to him to decided.

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by VTP99 View Post
    Because his conscience says he's wasting there money the second time. Even though we know that's not up to him to decided.
    That's true, on the second short of gas they sell a new unit!

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by EnergyOasis View Post