Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 30

Thread: Gauges!

  1. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Fayetteville, NC
    Posts
    197
    Post Likes
    So far in an industrial setting, with lots of metal and concrete, the Fieldpiece wireless have performed very well. Two cinder block walls, metal roofs and in an electrical control room and I could still connect to my probes 2 rooms over! I was very surprised.

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
    Supermarket Tech...and anything else the boss finds for me!

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    3,744
    Post Likes
    I have the Testo 550's made in Germany still going strong, but get very little use since I bought the FP smart probe kit. I also have the iConnect kit, but....... ehhhhhhh, yeah, nuff said. The FP kit is just too easy to use; it comes with a very durable case so no issues with losing probes. No hoses to deal with is a huge benefit IMO.
    "The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing" Socrates

  3. #16
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Bay Area California
    Posts
    26,599
    Post Likes
    On a tiny bit of a tangent . . .

    My last job was mostly refrigeration, and you'd have to gauge up on at least two out of three calls.

    Now I'm doing mostly light commercial A/C, a couple of tons up to whatever the largest Intellipaks are. And I wouldn't be surprised if a whole month goes by when I don't need to gauge up. Other times, of course, I might be gauging up a couple of times a week.

    Funny how things are; the difference between A/C and refrigeration.

    Oh yeah, the newer analog gauges seem to not require much if any calibration at all. Not sure what they're doing different.


    Quote Originally Posted by Chill_Guy View Post
    Hey guys, Been awhile since iv stopped by here. Been thinking about leaving the stone age gauge wise recently but just can't make a decision. Through my research and needs, I'm thinking about the testo 550s.

    Some background. I do refrigeration as well as A/C. I have no issues with analog gauges except that they seem to have to be recalibrated often after a few months. No big deal. But then the clear plastic covers break or constantly fall off.... then the pins get bent... then i buy new ones. I can measure SH/SC just fine with analogs and a clamp on meter. Im just at the point where i really need a new set of refrigeration and 410 gauges/manifolds. For the price of two yellow jacket analogs im getting close to the price of a testo that could do it all.

    Long story short, im hesitant to drop that kind of cash on somthing that may or may not have issues. The FP smart probes are intriguing as well but i think id have connection issues that would make them not worth it.

    Thoughts? Experiences? All input is appreciated
    I do a triple evac with nitro to remove non condensables.

  4. #17
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    FLORIDA
    Posts
    303
    Post Likes
    i have the Testo i like them a lot
    i prefer test because not too big, FP a bulky and heavy
    only problem with theist is the temperature probe connector keep coming out
    quite annoying sometimes
    Visit our website at www.airconcomfortcooling.com

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago area
    Posts
    8,761
    Post Likes
    I have the Testo 550 set up, 2 of them actually. I hang them the same way I hang my analogs.

    I mainly went with Testo for the small form factor, everything else on the market for a manifold set up is too big for my taste.

    I hate 4 port manifolds, even on analogs.

    I have had them a few years now with no real issues. Had one of the valves start leaking, but they sell replacements for cheap, so I bought a few extras.

    I even bought a few sets for my apprentices, they all like them also.

    For the price, you cant go wrong, and they have a decent warranty also.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Piedmont Triad, NC
    Posts
    786
    Post Likes
    For what it’s worth, with two tee adapters you can use your existing analog gauges with stubby wireless gauges instead of investing in 550’s or sman380. This way you can enjoy the use of hoseless gauges on most units until you’ve got to add refrigerant.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    16
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    I didn't realize this but a co worker of mine actually has the 550s. He let me try then today. Im a fan. Light, small, easy to use. Think I'm going to pick one up.

    The big selling point....i was working on a roof of a mall. Really narrow stairwell/hatch. With my bag slung over one shoulder and my gauges over the other, the handles would always catch the railing and hang me up. Annoying. Ther 550 was nice and slim, no catching.

    Thanks for the input guys, it's very much appreciated

  8. Likes heatingman liked this post.
  9. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    columbus, OH
    Posts
    7,044
    Post Likes
    Your making a terrible mistake lol


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  10. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    442
    Post Likes
    I gave up on electronic gauges because my testos were problematic. I went back to analog without any issues. Analog works great as long as you don't drop it

  11. #23
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Chico, Ca #StateofJefferson
    Posts
    1,883
    Post Likes
    My sman 360 was a workhorse for 4 years and only had to replace my suction side temp clamp once, no other issues. Which is handy because I'm not very gentle with my tools. I only gave them to a new guy when I got the wireless probes from FP. I find it much easier to process what's happening inside the system with the info laid out on one screen like the sman and now the probes do.

  12. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    39
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by mgenius33 View Post
    I have the Testo 550's made in Germany still going strong, but get very little use since I bought the FP smart probe kit. I also have the iConnect kit, but....... ehhhhhhh, yeah, nuff said. The FP kit is just too easy to use; it comes with a very durable case so no issues with losing probes. No hoses to deal with is a huge benefit IMO.
    Been looking at the iconnect for a while. What is the issue with them? I ask because I would hate to drop the money on it and have issues.

  13. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    39
    Post Likes
    I removed the gauges on a manifold and installed male flares in their place for this. After using probes for the last two years sometimes it is just nice to have a manifold.

  14. #26
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    39
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Achso017 View Post
    For what it’s worth, with two tee adapters you can use your existing analog gauges with stubby wireless gauges instead of investing in 550’s or sman380. This way you can enjoy the use of hoseless gauges on most units until you’ve got to add refrigerant.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    I removed the gauges from a manifold and replaced them with male flare fittings. After two years of using probs it’s sometimes nice to have a manifold.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Contracting Business
HPAC Engineering
EC&M
CONTRACTOR