Thread: TXV question

Post Likes

Confused TXV question

I am new to HVAC. I have been trying to purge this system and can not get nitrogen to flow through the entire system. I connect to the high side at the collector and start the the Nitrogen flow and the gauge never rises on the low side.
    I went down inside the cooler box opened the Evaporator and tried to push nitrogen through the TXV and it wouldn't go through. The system has been off for days and everything is at room temperature. Shouldn't the TXV be open and allow Nitrogen to pass?
    I did a Nitrogen pressure test with the manifold connected to both High and low line at 300 psi for 10 hours prior to this. And it held at 300 psi
    I need to purge these lines out somehow because I couldn't get a good vacuum done. I could only get it done to 610 and it would start to rise slowly which tells me I have to get more vapor out. So I changed the oil in my vacuum and let it run for over night. And it was still reading 1200 microns. The day prior I got it down to 610.
    I'm confused about what is happening hear.
    I hope someone will shear their knowledge.
    Quick reply to this message Reply  

Post Likes
    Perhaps just break down and hire a contractor. This is not a good starting project for a building owner to begin getting into HVAC.
    https://www.hvac20.com/ High efficiency equipment alone does not provide home comfort and efficiency. HVAC2.0 is a process for finding the real needs of the house and the occupants. Offer the customer a menu of work to address their problems and give them a probability of success.

Find contractors with specialized training in combustion analysis, residential system performance, air flow, and duct optimization https://www.myhomecomfort.org/

Post Likes
    Is there a solenoid valve?

How did you pressurize from the evaporator coil?

What's a collector?
    Attached Images Attached Images

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by pecmsg View Post