+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Air Flow Rate: Summer vs Winter

Post Likes

Air Flow Rate: Summer vs Winter

Hello

This is more of a conceptual question. I'm fairly new to all of this so bear with me.

Say I have a 'constant' volume system (Air Handling Unit) with no recirculation that operates both during the summer and winter external conditions and maintains the same internal conditions (temp, relative humidity) all year round.

If I size my Air Handler fan, say, for providing the required volumetric flow in the summer, what is the normal procedure for during the winter?:

- accept that the pressure losses through the system will be different, and so the fan will output a different volume flow rate?
    - control the fan speed to ensure constant volume?

Hope this makes sense
    Thanks

Post Likes
    With no recirculation you have a make-up air unit. Provide the same amount of airflow year around. Size the heat and cooling source to handle it. The flow rate shouldn't vary enough to matter.
    No man can be both ignorant and free.
    Thomas Jefferson

Post Likes
    Furnaces have specific needs for air flow to avoid overheating. A/c air flow is adjusted to provide ideal moisture removal. They may be different.
    Keep us posted.
    Regards Teddy Bear
    Bear Rules: Keep our home <50% RH summer, controls mites/mold and very comfortable.
    Provide 60-100 cfm of fresh air when occupied to purge indoor pollutants and keep window dry during cold weather. T-stat setup/setback +8 hrs. saves energy
    Use +Merv 10 air filter. -Don't forget the "Golden Rule"

Post Likes
    Make-up air units are sized for a specific purpose and with no recirculation that purpose normally requires the same amount of airflow year around. For that reason design of the heating and cooling will handle the airflow. There are some MAU'S now that will do a lot of things. It depends on what you want them to do.