Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 32
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    53
    Post Likes

    Infinite switch Crown Verity Steam table

    This is a 208 v, hot dog steam well with ambient exposed element which sits underneath a stainless steel pan filled with water to steam the hot dogs, controlled by infinite switches.

    I replaced a 240v, 15 amp(3750 watts) infinite switch with one I had in the truck that is 208v, 13 amp, putting the wattage at 2704. The element wattage is 1750(see pic). The element only pulls about 8 amps.

    I do know that the switch has to be capable of handling the wattage in order for the bimetal to stay closed longer and get to the proper temperature.

    I turned the new switch to the highest regulated position at 7 on the dial and it shuts off the indicator light in 30 seconds. This new switch is only working on high setting which is continuously passing voltage to the element.

    What am I doing wrong here?

    1st pic: old switch
    2nd pic: new switch
    3rd pic: element

    Name:  250v.PNG
Views: 110
Size:  324.8 KBName:  208.jpg
Views: 109
Size:  41.2 KBName:  element.jpg
Views: 111
Size:  43.7 KB

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    19,296
    Post Likes
    Are you saying at the number 1 position you're not pulling amps ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    53
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    At number 1, no amps, it starts to come on at about number 4, but cuts out in a couple seconds and takes a very long time to come back on. So I set it to 7 and it does the same thing. I am thinking it has something to do with the lower voltage and amp rating even though it seems like I got the wattage covered

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    19,296
    Post Likes
    Was the old switch the factory original ?
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    53
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    yes it was. But that switch is so unreliable. I have probably changed that switch 2 times in the past year, so I decided not to order that exact switch again and possibly order a different one with similar ratings, but it was an emergency so i put what I had in.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    53
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    The specs say unit is 240 but its getting only 208v. Thats how its always been

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    19,296
    Post Likes
    Which switch did you replace left / right or middle ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    53
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Left switch, the larger element rated 1750 watts

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    19,296
    Post Likes
    But even at 208 volts it's still only 10.09 amps.
    Attached Images Attached Images   

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    SE Texas
    Posts
    571
    Post Likes
    First, I suggest using OEM parts when repairing appliances. Second, OHMs Law is your friend.
    With your chrome heart shining in the sun, long may you run.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    53
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by SandShark View Post
    First, I suggest using OEM parts when repairing appliances. Second, OHMs Law is your friend.

    as you see in this thread, both vtp99 and I have been using ohms law but its not yielding answers we need. it does not make sense why a 13 amp switch cannot stay closed long enough on any cycle setting when the heater is only pulling a max of 10 amps.

    perhaps these switches need to be rated much higher to control smaller loads( original switch was 15 amps 240 v much higher wattage)

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    19,296
    Post Likes
    It will be interesting to see if it changes using the higher voltage.
    Even if it's not the original OEM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    SE Texas
    Posts
    571
    Post Likes
    Doesn't the infinite switch have an internal bi-metal switch in series with the heating element that breaks the connection to the heating element? In the OEM infinite switch, isn't that bi-metal switch rated for 240V? Think about it.
    With your chrome heart shining in the sun, long may you run.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Contracting Business
HPAC Engineering
EC&M
CONTRACTOR