Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 27 to 39 of 42
  1. #27
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Buffalo,NY
    Posts
    1,012
    Post Likes
    X2. Take your time and verify everything. Especially with that kind of voltage. I’d rather take an extra 10 minutes and not get hurt than the ladder. Be safe. Also
    It was said before make sure your meter is good for that kind of voltage. Let us know how you make out. Everyone makes mistakes. Learning from them is the difference.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. Likes CEAS-AC-TECH liked this post.
  3. #28
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    42
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Is it possible for a bad board to blow the transformer? I hooked up the new one and before hooking it up to the board I had 600 going in and 250 coming out. So I figured I hooked up the primary side properly this time.

    I then disconnected power and hooked up the 230v leads to board, powered up and same error code. Tested the transformer again and now only have 25v on secondary side.

    As for my meter, it's a uei DL379, when I bought I made sure it was rated for 600

  4. #29
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Bay Area California
    Posts
    25,720
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by apz245 View Post
    Is it possible for a bad board to blow the transformer? I hooked up the new one and before hooking it up to the board I had 600 going in and 250 coming out. So I figured I hooked up the primary side properly this time.

    I then disconnected power and hooked up the 230v leads to board, powered up and same error code. Tested the transformer again and now only have 25v on secondary side.

    As for my meter, it's a uei DL379, when I bought I made sure it was rated for 600
    Do you know how to size fuses using the VA of the transformer?
    I do a triple evac with nitro to remove non condensables.

  5. #30
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    42
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by BBeerme View Post
    Do you know how to size fuses using the VA of the transformer?
    Unfortunately not, might have saved the second transformer Haha

  6. #31
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    42
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by BBeerme View Post
    Do you know how to size fuses using the VA of the transformer?
    Unfortunately not, might have saved the second transformer Haha

  7. #32
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    East Side
    Posts
    7,177
    Post Likes
    Ohm your motor

    Ohm your “BC” contactor coil

    Ohm your control transformer.

    You have a high voltage short, until you correct that, you won’t get it fixed. Do you have a senior technician that can assist you with this repair?

  8. #33
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    32,121
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by apz245 View Post
    Is it possible for a bad board to blow the transformer? I hooked up the new one and before hooking it up to the board I had 600 going in and 250 coming out. So I figured I hooked up the primary side properly this time.

    I then disconnected power and hooked up the 230v leads to board, powered up and same error code. Tested the transformer again and now only have 25v on secondary side.

    As for my meter, it's a uei DL379, when I bought I made sure it was rated for 600

    In my opinion, you should not be using a 600 volt listed meter for 600 volts.

    The reason I say that is 600 is an arbitrary number chosen by the industry. In fact, most manufacturers do not believe that their 600 volt listed meter is ever going to be used for that voltage. Most of the time, the highest voltage that meter will ever see is 480 volts.

    I would check around with other technicians in your area and see what the next level meter is, and what it costs....because I can tell you I have worked with electricity since 1963, and I would never use a device at the very top end of its listing.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist
    Member, IAEI

    AOP Forum Rules:







  9. #34
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Bay Area California
    Posts
    25,720
    Post Likes
    I think we have gone as far as we can go in the open forum.
    I do a triple evac with nitro to remove non condensables.

  10. #35
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    32,121
    Post Likes
    I think I suggested that you use the ohms function of your meter to check all of the devices which are powered by that board.

    Apparently one of them is defective, and you need to find out which device that is.

    The reason I believe it's not the board is because generally speaking the board itself does not have enough load to take out a transformer.... but the devices that are connected to the board certainly do.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist
    Member, IAEI

    AOP Forum Rules:







  11. #36
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    42
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by 71CHOPS View Post
    Ohm your motor

    Ohm your “BC” contactor coil

    Ohm your control transformer.

    You have a high voltage short, until you correct that, you won’t get it fixed. Do you have a senior technician that can assist you with this repair?
    Thanks, should I just be looking for O.L or are there specific resistances I should be looking for? If so where can I find these?

    At the company I'm at I probably have the most experience on this kind of equipment , they mostly do residential. At previous companies I was at there was always a more senior service tech but I don't have anyone this time. Even called rheem tech support and didnt hear back

    Will take the advice given and look for shorts in all the loads. There is a lot of cooling stuff coming off of the same contactor as the heat, is this normal/typical? From what I remember they are usually separate.

    I am considering disconnecting all of the cooling stuff powered by that contactor, just to eliminate some possibilities

  12. #37
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    42
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Why is it so much easier to read a drawing at home on the computer or on a phone compared to when you're freezing your balls off in wind so bad it is blowing the units panels away? You guys have an answer for that? Haha.

    Thanks again to everyone, I thought there was a thank function for posts here but cant find it now, is it only available on desktop site? Would like to give everyone a +1 who helped me out but my computer illiterate ass cant figure it out right now

  13. #38
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    169
    Post Likes
    I used to carry a couple 1 amp and 2 amp resettable fuses for testing situations like this.

  14. #39
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    42
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by timebuilder View Post
    In my opinion, you should not be using a 600 volt listed meter for 600 volts.

    The reason I say that is 600 is an arbitrary number chosen by the industry. In fact, most manufacturers do not believe that their 600 volt listed meter is ever going to be used for that voltage. Most of the time, the highest voltage that meter will ever see is 480 volts.

    I would check around with other technicians in your area and see what the next level meter is, and what it costs....because I can tell you I have worked with electricity since 1963, and I would never use a device at the very top end of its listing.
    Will definitely have to look into this, I used to work for a company that did only commercial service and I did see guys using these meters, doesn't mean they were using the right ones but gives me some hope. The only other meter I've seen guys using were fluke hvac combos, I've heard fluke is good too.

    I have never noticed doing anything weird while working on 575/600(again doesn't mean it doesnt) I've used it successfully to measure voltage accross the 3 incoming legs/contacts and have found lots of blown fuses with it. And I mistakenly posted the model as 379, it is actually DL389.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •