Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 42
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    18,057
    Post Likes
    See the problem here ?
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    18,057
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by apz245 View Post
    . 2 wires in. 3 wires out
    Here ^^^^^^^^

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Buffalo,NY
    Posts
    971
    Post Likes
    And there’s your answer.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    East Side
    Posts
    7,055
    Post Likes
    The 460v tap should be a red lead

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    32,058
    Post Likes
    Just like we have units that say 460 volts, yet we power them with 480 volts...Canada has 575 units being powered with 600.

    Make sure you are using a meter that is listed for voltages that exceed 600. Most are not so listed. You don't want to have a meter blow up.

    Next, look for wonky readings in everything that is powered by the transformer. This is done power OFF, using the ohms function.

    Check your wiring to make sure you installed the transformer correctly. Get on the horn to Rheem if you need the proper diagram.

    Order a new transformer, but don't install it until you know that all of the bases are covered, and you have it IN the unit.

    Hmm. Having all of the bases covered in an American expression.

    Okay. Make sure that all of the players are out of the penalty box.

    Find and fix the load issue BEFORE you energize the new transformer.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist
    Member, IAEI

    AOP Forum Rules:







  6. Likes Core_d liked this post
  7. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    18,057
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by 71CHOPS View Post
    The 460v tap should be a red lead
    Correct, unused, and the Black/Red & Blue wires are your 575 volts.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  8. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    42
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by BuildingMech88 View Post
    3 wires on the secondary side?? never seen that.

    Does it step down to 2 different voltages?

    If you for sure didnt connect the primary side incorrectly you must have a pretty big short somewhere.

    Like BB asked, what does the transformer feed?
    It doesn't stop down 2 voltages

    Never seen it either for a ventor motor, its labelled common and white is white. All 3 secondary wires go into board which powers ventor motor

  9. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    18,057
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by apz245 View Post
    It doesn't stop down 2 voltages

    Never seen it either for a ventor motor, its labelled common and white is white. All 3 secondary wires go into board which powers ventor motor
    Look at your wiring diagram

  10. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    42
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    I think on the transformer I got though there were only 2 wires on primary side, will have to see tomorrow. If there are three I know what I did wrong. If not I still have no clue but maybe I got the primary and secondary side mixed up, now I am second guessing myself like crazy

  11. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    East Side
    Posts
    7,055
    Post Likes
    The 3 wire side is the primary side. The red wire (460v) is “parked” on the board (not used).

    The secondary side, both wires go to the board.

    The diagram VTP posted should be correct for your unit.

  12. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    18,057
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by apz245 View Post
    I think on the transformer I got though there were only 2 wires on primary side, will have to see tomorrow. If there are three I know what I did wrong. If not I still have no clue but maybe I got the primary and secondary side mixed up, now I am second guessing myself like crazy
    Go back with a OEM transformer it should be color coded correctly.
    The primary side has 3 taps same transformer for the 460volt units. The manufacturer just eliminates/ terminates the other tap depending on the unit voltage.
    The secondary will be 2 black wires polarity isn't a issue on those.
    Be certain to check shorts to ground on those secondaries before hooking up or bring more fuses

  13. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    42
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    I cant believe I did that. Wow. Thanks guys. Will give everyone a thank and better response tomorrow. I hooked up the god damn wrong sides

    Yoummm

  14. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    18,057
    Post Likes
    We've all been there and any one here who denies it is well you know.
    Please be careful with that hi of voltage. I get nervous myself when dealing with it.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •