Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    26
    Post Likes

    Screw the service guy

    Saw this on vacation in NC.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2
    Post Likes
    At least you would be mostly out of the rain, and the outdoor unit is on the same floor as the evaporator.
    What they should have done, was mount it outboard of the handrail, on the floor above. That way you have the angry customer and their inconvenienced upstairs neighbor.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Bay Area California
    Posts
    25,426
    Post Likes
    Just keep a few extra units on site. If one ever stops working, just change it out.
    If you were a real tech, you'd solder a relay on that board and call it good to go.

    I do a triple evac with nitro to remove non condensables.

    I use 56% silver on everything except steel.

    Did you really need the " If you were a real tech " ??

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Sea to Sky
    Posts
    3,474
    Post Likes
    Seen way worse than that.....

    Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Dayton Oh
    Posts
    2,072
    Post Likes
    Why is it always a Diakin. I mean goodman. Ah whoever the heck makes them these days......

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    18,077
    Post Likes
    6' step ladder vs 32' extension ladder, I'll take that trade any day.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Beatrice, NE
    Posts
    10,085
    Post Likes
    Well yeah, but they only used 1 line set on the hole (SP intended) job. Matter of fact if the connection stubs on the inside unit were long enough they may not have needed a line set, just direct connection and only 2 joints to leak.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold, NY
    Posts
    25,758
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by BNME8EZ View Post
    Well yeah, but they only used 1 line set on the hole (SP intended) job. Matter of fact if the connection stubs on the inside unit were long enough they may not have needed a line set, just direct connection and only 2 joints to leak.
    What about the minimum line set length?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Beatrice, NE
    Posts
    10,085
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by pecmsg View Post
    What about the minimum line set length?
    From the back of the inside unit, through the wall, to the connections on the unit. How much more minimum do you want?

    Or are you talking they need to be at least X feet long. There is no space for extra line unless you wrap it around the fan shroud.

    I really shouldn't post some of this stuff, it may give people bad ideas. And we all know these guys have enough bad ideas of their own.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Bay Area California
    Posts
    25,426
    Post Likes
    Back in the day, there was one brand or other of ice machine that required a minimum line set length of something like 25 or 40 feet or whatever. They said to just leave the extra as a flat coil next to the outdoor unit.

    I ended up working with a lot of techs who would comment, what a hack install. Had to explain to them that was per the mfg's spec's. Told them to read the manual.


    Quote Originally Posted by BNME8EZ View Post
    From the back of the inside unit, through the wall, to the connections on the unit. How much more minimum do you want?

    Or are you talking they need to be at least X feet long. There is no space for extra line unless you wrap it around the fan shroud.

    I really shouldn't post some of this stuff, it may give people bad ideas. And we all know these guys have enough bad ideas of their own.
    If you were a real tech, you'd solder a relay on that board and call it good to go.

    I do a triple evac with nitro to remove non condensables.

    I use 56% silver on everything except steel.

    Did you really need the " If you were a real tech " ??

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    18,077
    Post Likes
    Lots of precharged line sets out there. 15, 20, 30 ft. long.
    Sure, you could cut them down to fit your job. Lose the precharged gas, weld them in, vacuum them down. Kinda defeats the purpose of using them.
    There were also line sets where the liquid line was the metering device, those you left as is.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Gladstone, Oregon (Portland)
    Posts
    1,781
    Post Likes
    Yep. No board repairs on those, at least not onsite. Swap it and repair in the shop . With a cold beer in hand.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Beatrice, NE
    Posts
    10,085
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by BBeerme View Post
    Back in the day, there was one brand or other of ice machine that required a minimum line set length of something like 25 or 40 feet or whatever. They said to just leave the extra as a flat coil next to the outdoor unit.

    I ended up working with a lot of techs who would comment, what a hack install. Had to explain to them that was per the mfg's spec's. Told them to read the manual.
    Lennox A/Cs use to be that way (60's) not so much the suction but the liquid. It was 1/4" or 3/16th" tube and 50ish feet long usually laying above the plenum or laying on the center wall plate. It was the or part of the metering device. Some of those units had a short cap tube inside the condenser just before it exited the cabinet.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •