Page 1 of 7 1234567 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 88
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    38
    Post Likes

    Trane XV20i and TAM9060 Recent Install/Performance

    Hi, I recently had an XV20i and TAM9060 installed.

    It's not acting as I thought it would.... I'm looking for some advice before contacting my dealer (again).

    About a week ago my dealer came and made adjustments to my system. I could hear the air handler running wide open and suddenly stop. He said that he turned the fan down due to high back pressure and set it up to run on torque vs amps (maybe visa-versa). Since, I've been at home this week on vacation and my system seems to be acting like a conventional system. It starts and stops frequently and only seems to run at 43% output (like my old non variable speed one stage unit).

    If I change set point (heat) it does seem to ramp at low speed (20%), but them goes back to frequent on/off operation at 43%.

    My home is very well insulated (min 8" foam) and windows to match. I also realize there are a lot of variables that go into all of this, I'm just not educated enough in this area to provide all of them. Do I just not understand a variable speed system? I thought it was designed to run more constantly at lower speed vs on/off operation at close to half speed...? In addition, I'm not sure turning the fan down is the proper solution. It makes me feel like my system can't perform to it's full capability. My home also feels colder than I'm used to at the same setpoint.

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold, NY
    Posts
    25,617
    Post Likes
    What size equipment do you have?

    What was the size of the equipment it replaced?

    How long has this equipment been in service?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    38
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by pecmsg View Post
    What size equipment do you have?

    What was the size of the equipment it replaced?

    How long has this equipment been in service?
    5 Ton currently installed

    Old unit was 5 Ton

    1 month since install

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold, NY
    Posts
    25,617
    Post Likes
    WAG

    1/2 - 3/4 of the jobs we see have...........Oversized equipment on undersized ducts!

    Did the selling contractor perform a Load / loss calculation? See if the ducts could handle the air flow required for 5-Tons?

    Might want to get a different contractor to review the entire install.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Dover, DE
    Posts
    11,666
    Post Likes
    How big is this well insulated home that requires 5 tons of cooling?
    I havent failed. Ive just found 10,000 ways that wont work. - Thomas Edison

    Its not whether you get knocked down, its whether you get up. - Vince Lombardi

    "In this house we obey the laws of thermodynamics" - Homer Simpson

    Local 486 Instructor & Service Technician

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    38
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    They did not. They did change the box on the outlet of the air handler from a sweep elbow to a 90 degree box...

    The impression I was given in regards to oversize is that this system can adjust from 2-ton to 5-ton depending on demand. I was told that would eliminate an oversize unit. That's one reason I chose this system. I have been told in the past I didn't need a 5-ton.

    What you say about the duct work makes sense to me, but wouldn't I have had high back pressure/less airflow with my old system?

    He also verified charge and said it is right where it needs to be.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    38
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by rider77 View Post
    How big is this well insulated home that requires 5 tons of cooling?
    3000 square feet.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Victoria, Texas
    Posts
    633
    Post Likes
    On that equipment it's got to be size right especially on foam insulated house or you are going to problems with air flow and humidity.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Dover, DE
    Posts
    11,666
    Post Likes
    Your equipment is very likely oversized. Variable speed is not a cure or excuse to oversize the equipment.
    If you have a foamed well insulated house what is being done for outdoor air exchange and humidity control?
    Did you receive a commissioning report for the new unit startup?
    I havent failed. Ive just found 10,000 ways that wont work. - Thomas Edison

    Its not whether you get knocked down, its whether you get up. - Vince Lombardi

    "In this house we obey the laws of thermodynamics" - Homer Simpson

    Local 486 Instructor & Service Technician

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold, NY
    Posts
    25,617
    Post Likes
    I know of NO residential unit that can modulate from 2 - 5 tons. I hope you got that in writing!
    BOSCH does have one that can be set up 3 - 5 tons.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    38
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by rider77 View Post
    Your equipment is very likely oversized. Variable speed is not a cure or excuse to oversize the equipment.
    If you have a foamed well insulated house what is being done for outdoor air exchange and humidity control?
    Did you receive a commissioning report for the new unit startup?
    I have a fresh air intake. It used to be manual, now it is tied into the unit and automated. Humidity is set on my thermostat, I don't know how it controls it.

    My answer to a commissioning report will have to be "No". But to be honest I'm not sure what that would look like...

    Is frequent start/stop a sign of being oversized?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold, NY
    Posts
    25,617
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by wolfewl View Post
    I have a fresh air intake. It used to be manual, now it is tied into the unit and automated. Humidity is set on my thermostat, I don't know how it controls it.

    My answer to a commissioning report will have to be "No". But to be honest I'm not sure what that would look like...

    Is frequent start/stop a sign of being oversized?
    Yes or other issues or combination of!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Victoria, Texas
    Posts
    633
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by pecmsg View Post
    I know of NO residential unit that can modulate from 2 - 5 tons. I hope you got that in writing!
    BOSCH does have one that can be set up 3 - 5 tons.
    I think Bosch is design to be install on a standard air handler with standard thermostat. The Trane XV unit with Tam 9 unit is design to modulate blower air flow and compressor speeds to control temperature and humidity.

Page 1 of 7 1234567 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •