Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 14 to 21 of 21
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    32,064
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Adlerberts-Protege View Post
    The biggest problem is more techs read this sub forum than they do the pro forums. What really needs to happen is have the tech to tech chat sub forum made a pro forum but also highlighted and as easy to find as this one. I find there is a ton more traffic here than any of the pro forums. What would make the most sense, in my eyes, is to have this topic put right below as pro tech to tech chat with an asterisk by it.
    This forum's higher traffic is not due to visibility. It is the incredible number of search engine referrals being sent to the forum, because it is searchable by search engines.

    This is also the reason that so many open form sections have topics being raised from the dead. The searcher is not a regular here, and wants to add his interned two cents to a topic...even if the topic had its last post 10 years ago.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist
    Member, IAEI

    AOP Forum Rules:







  2. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Gladstone, Oregon (Portland)
    Posts
    1,780
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by timebuilder View Post
    This forum's higher traffic is not due to visibility. It is the incredible number of search engine referrals being sent to the forum, because it is searchable by search engines.

    This is also the reason that so many open form sections have topics being raised from the dead. The searcher is not a regular here, and wants to add his interned two cents to a topic...even if the topic had its last post 10 years ago.

    That wasn’t my point. My point is that tech to tech is an open forum and it shouldn’t be. It is also the top topic on open sub forum. My point was that we need a pro tech to tech chat that is easier to find. One that is only pro access. Most come on here and don’t bother to scroll through the numerous pro forums.

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    32,064
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Adlerberts-Protege View Post
    That wasn’t my point. My point is that tech to tech is an open forum and it shouldn’t be. It is also the top topic on open sub forum. My point was that we need a pro tech to tech chat that is easier to find. One that is only pro access. Most come on here and don’t bother to scroll through the numerous pro forums.
    It was my understanding that the powers thought that an open area was necessary.

    Indeed, the applicants need that first 15 posts, and this allows for that to happen.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist
    Member, IAEI

    AOP Forum Rules:







  4. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    78,340
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by jperigo View Post
    Listen guys, I was just making a quick post asking a question if anyone else has had these similar kind of limit switch issues with them "wearing out" but then showing up normal later. Some of you make it very "undesirable" to ask a simple question on this site.
    Your starting post made it sound like you didn't look for any other causes than the gas pressure. So you will get answers that either are, or seem accusing.
    The more detail you start with, the better the answers are that you receive.

    But not always. LOL
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  5. #18
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    71
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Your starting post made it sound like you didn't look for any other causes than the gas pressure. So you will get answers that either are, or seem accusing.
    The more detail you start with, the better the answers are that you receive.

    But not always. LOL
    The question was more about the characteristics of limit switches that have repeatedly tripped. Not why is it tripping or what should I do, I took care of all of that. The Rheem furnace it says in my statement was a plugged filter, that's an easy one to take care of. My uncle's old Lennox was a while ago and he has a new furnace in there now so I really don't remember the model and serial number of his, yes I verified clean filter and all registers open. I also verified that there were no holes in the supply or return air duct work at the furnace in the basement for the 17 years that it was maintenanced by another company to see that the delta-t was ever even checked or the exhaust checked. I chalk that one up to improper setup at install and improper maintenance ever since. Yes I made sure to check the supply temperature out of line of sight from the heat exchanger. It still worked when we put a new one in he just wanted to be proactive have a new furnace along with AC added. Like I said the question was more about the characteristics of limit switches that have repeatedly failed.

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    78,340
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by jperigo View Post
    The question was more about the characteristics of limit switches that have repeatedly tripped. Not why is it tripping or what should I do, I took care of all of that. The Rheem furnace it says in my statement was a plugged filter, that's an easy one to take care of. My uncle's old Lennox was a while ago and he has a new furnace in there now so I really don't remember the model and serial number of his, yes I verified clean filter and all registers open. I also verified that there were no holes in the supply or return air duct work at the furnace in the basement for the 17 years that it was maintenanced by another company to see that the delta-t was ever even checked or the exhaust checked. I chalk that one up to improper setup at install and improper maintenance ever since. Yes I made sure to check the supply temperature out of line of sight from the heat exchanger. It still worked when we put a new one in he just wanted to be proactive have a new furnace along with AC added. Like I said the question was more about the characteristics of limit switches that have repeatedly failed.
    The characteristics of limit switches that have repeatedly failed. Will vary with how often they opened. Which is often determined by the reason they failed.

    So the questions you were asked do kind of go hand in hand with your question.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    32,064
    Post Likes
    In my work (which is strictly commercial) when I have a situation where a limit switch is tripped, I have to assume that I'm not the only company that visits this unit and I may not even be part of the company that changes the filters. This introduces the possibility that the unit may be "riding on the limit switch" if it's an auto reset type, so generally speaking..... I'm going to write up that switch for replacement.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist
    Member, IAEI

    AOP Forum Rules:







  8. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Piedmont Triad, NC
    Posts
    664
    Post Likes
    Yes, I have had limit switches read as open even when the furnace hasn’t run for days and later have them read as closed. I assume it’s because as they age the two metals flexibility and alignment may degrade from constant heat cycling. A lot of times a sharp tap will get them temporarily unstuck or even just unplugging some stubborn wire connections.

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    US of A
    Posts
    5,402
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by jperigo View Post
    The question was more about the characteristics of limit switches that have repeatedly tripped. Not why is it tripping or what should I do, I took care of all of that. The Rheem furnace it says in my statement was a plugged filter, that's an easy one to take care of. My uncle's old Lennox was a while ago and he has a new furnace in there now so I really don't remember the model and serial number of his, yes I verified clean filter and all registers open. I also verified that there were no holes in the supply or return air duct work at the furnace in the basement for the 17 years that it was maintenanced by another company to see that the delta-t was ever even checked or the exhaust checked. I chalk that one up to improper setup at install and improper maintenance ever since. Yes I made sure to check the supply temperature out of line of sight from the heat exchanger. It still worked when we put a new one in he just wanted to be proactive have a new furnace along with AC added. Like I said the question was more about the characteristics of limit switches that have repeatedly failed.

    Any high limit that won't automatically reset or will do so with a tap etc should be replaced. I will replace one that resets but I feel has been repeatedly tripped over an extended period of time. I may make mention of it even I don't replace it just to cover myself and the company. I am less likely to replace the older fan-limit switches because they hold up so well. As has already been stated usually the limit switch is just a symptom of the actual problem.
    Signature removed Violated rule #15

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •