+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: R22 WALK-IN COOLER LOW PRESSURE STAYS SAME AT ALL TIMES.

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Post Likes

R22 WALK-IN COOLER LOW PRESSURE STAYS SAME AT ALL TIMES.

Hi everybody. I am an HVAC/R tech with 7 years of experience in trade. I have done so many heating and cooling service calls and and installations, but when it comes to refrigeration services not so many.

I had this service call yesterday: Customer was complaining about compressor being loud at start up. I check the condenser and see condensation all over the compressor and water all around the condenser that indicates unit is overcharged.

I put my gauges on the unit, low side shows 65 psi and high side around 350 psi. I had my helper change raise the temperature on the thermostat to see solenoid and pressure control work properly. Low side pressure stays the same at 65 psi and high side rises to almost 475 psi as he raises the set temp. Basically, high pressure switch turns off the system because low side pressure stays above 60 psi at all times.

I do not hear solenoid valve clicking when the thermostat kicks on or off. It seems like a bad solenoid but it just blows me off how high side pressure goes crazy high and low side pressure stays the same.

Has anyone ever came across a problem like this?
    I appreciate any help in advance.

Post Likes
    Did you measure sub cooling?

Post Likes
    No I did not. It just kind of blew me off that suction side pressure just stays the same at all times. Since the unit was cooling the box I postponed the service and left for next service call. Suction side pressure was 65 psi unit on or off, box temperature was 38 degrees, condenser ambient temperature was 75 degrees. I have to go back tomorrow and look into it more deeply, I will check subcooling and superheat but I just wanted to see if anyone can give a clue with low side pressure not changing unit on or off.