Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Likes

LON nvi's not updating

I have a large Distech LON network that is 95% LON links doing Trim and respond, occupancy, and so on.
    I am new to LON, getting throwed in the deep end.
    There are nvi bindings for occupancy that regularly do not seem to communicate. The source device is sending occOccupied and the receiving device says occNull. The points are not overridden, but if I command them to Auto, they do pick up what they are supposed to be doing... for 5 to 30 min, and fall back to their default again.
    I heard someone say that the parameter is on the network variable point, in GFX, in the max read and min read times.
    There are other nvi points that are also doing this, but I also heard nviOccupancy is more often a culprit for some reason.
    I have been reading up on this but I need a hand here. I know what these parameters are on paper, but I would like to understand them better, so I can read what is happening better.
    Thanks guys.
    Hmmmm....smells like numbatwo to me.

Post Likes
    Sounds like a Lon link binding issue, but I'm not familiar with Distechs programming so someone might be able to help on that end.

Sent from my moto z3 using Tapatalk

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by poptop22 View Post
    Sounds like a Lon link binding issue,
    The bindings are made, and many work. But the values do not carry through. How would you make this happen in your particular programming system? Lay it out and I will try to apply it to Distech.
    It sounds like the Max Read Time on the nvi needs to be more than the max write time on the matching nvo? Am I on the right track here?
    I am looking for an APDUtimeout or some other BacNet style parameter and I am not finding one... because it is LON.
    The more I work with LON the more I respect it - but it is still fundamentally foreign to me for now. Me and LON need to have a few beers an get to know each other better....