Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 19

Thread: Lennox A55

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    1,558
    Post Likes

    Lennox A55

    So with my new job, I am working on a shit load of Lennox rooftops. Is there any field programming that can be done to the A55?
    Local 449?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    1,558
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    What I have is a site with 10 RTU's. Lennox L series, Novar control, 2005 vintage. Roughly half of them are running continuous fan without a command through EMS. I'm trying to figure out why.
    Local 449?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    31,665
    Post Likes
    Let me guess.

    These a C Box units with four condenser fans, three compressors, and a board attached to the left side of the A55 board?
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist
    Member, IAEI

    AOP Forum Rules:







  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    1,558
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Sounds correct. Model LGC156H2BS2G
    Local 449?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Salt Lake City/Tooele
    Posts
    5,261
    Post Likes
    I made a video some years back to assist with educating folks about how to access these IMC (A55) boards. If you take a moment to watch the video through its entirety, I am sure you will walk away with a much better understanding of things.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5gCQh8NvDmY

    There are parameters that can set the blower to run constantly under certain settings, also that Novar interface board in conjunction with the 3rd party controller may have blower set for constant operation based on the customer's preference.

    TB is much more experienced with dealing with Lennox national accounts so he would know so more about the hows and whys of certain commercial equipment when dealing with Novar and how this equipment has been commissioned.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    31,665
    Post Likes
    I have not found Lennox to be a good resource for this issue.

    Initially, I replaced the A55 board, thinking that the micro relay along the bottom right of the A55 had been fused. That swap was not successful in ending the issue. That account signed with a different provider, one we do not do work for.

    If I had to look at this issue again, I would first check the ECTO setting to make sure we are not commanding constant fan during occupied hours. Novar sends an occupied command, and if ECTO is configured for constant fan in occupied mode, then you have to change the ECTO parameter in that block.

    I don't have the block or parameter in front of me...you'll have to check the book for that.

    If the ECTO is correct, my next step would be to change that left hand accessory board.

    Because the side pins are a data connection, even a logic probe won't help unless you had some command codes to verify, and Lennox will NEVER let that info out of their hands.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist
    Member, IAEI

    AOP Forum Rules:







  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    31,665
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by slctech View Post
    There are parameters that can set the blower to run constantly under certain settings, also that Novar interface board in conjunction with the 3rd party controller may have blower set for constant operation based on the customer's preference.
    Bingo, G!
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist
    Member, IAEI

    AOP Forum Rules:







  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    1,558
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Thanks guys. It's a Dick's Sporting Goods. Their EMS tells me that none of the units are supposed to be constant fan.
    Local 449?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    31,665
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by targetman View Post
    Thanks guys. It's a Dick's Sporting Goods. Their EMS tells me that none of the units are supposed to be constant fan.
    That only means that EMS is not commanding constant fan.

    In the ECTO, it can be set that way by mistake, and unless they have an indication from telemetry that shows them that the contactor is being energized, they would not know if the fan is running.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist
    Member, IAEI

    AOP Forum Rules:







  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    1,558
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    I'll have to work on getting the Company to purchase me a laptop and converter. I don't think any of the Techs have laptops. I'm surprised since most of their work is National accounts and 99% lennox.
    Local 449?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    East Side
    Posts
    6,817
    Post Likes
    is that software still available for download? I searched their site, but couldn't find it.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Salt Lake City/Tooele
    Posts
    5,261
    Post Likes
    I found it here:
    https://www.lennoxcommercial.com/sup...oller-software

    You will want to download the second one listed 23MB for your early generation A55 IMC boards and your white panel Prodigy boards. Then download the first package 3.62MB for the ability to connect to the newer black panel prodigy boards.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Salt Lake City/Tooele
    Posts
    5,261
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by targetman View Post
    I'll have to work on getting the Company to purchase me a laptop and converter. I don't think any of the Techs have laptops. I'm surprised since most of their work is National accounts and 99% lennox.
    There is a way with a flick of a DIP switch and certain presses of the button to move through the ECTOs and see what the current parameter is and even change it, but I can't remember how and actually tried a few times in my early days on these and just bagged it. Back when the Stratego first came out for Walmart, before the Energence was available publicly. The software was not free, the CD and license with the converter was about $1200! It was worth it for me with all the S-series work I was doing. Look for a crappy laptop that is still running Windows 7 on Craigslist or at pawnshops. Should be able to get one for a $100 in good running condition. I just checked with Lennox and the 96L78 Network to PC Converter Kit is still available, can't talk pricing, but it is listed under $90. All you need now it the 9pin to USB converter which are tricky, your cheap ones under $10 are useless, they are not really converters just change from 9pin to USB but your data transmission is not properly converted, you have to step up to a bit more pricey one like a $18 DTech one I found on Amazon https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0195ZD3P4...NsaWNrPXRydWU=

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •