Thread: VAV Rookie

Post Likes

VAV Rookie

Heck, I am a HVAC rookie that just finished school in August. I worked briefly for a commercial outfit but I realized real quick that company wasn't a good fit for me. I then landed a job at the technical college where I studied HVAC.

So far I have been working on RTU's and VAV's. Now the RTU's I have a good understanding of and can diagnose and correct most issues.

Now comes the VAV's that I have very limited training on. The school uses "Insight" computer program to monitor these units. I have just begun to learn this program and have some training scheduled with the provider next month.

So far I have been able to at least figure out how to diagnose if a TEC VAV controller isn't working correctly. I had to change one today and was pleased when the VAV came back online and started working.

One thing that I am not sure about but my work buddy and I tackled is changing the blower motor in one of these units. I am not sure of the model number but they are Trane. We had two with non-functioning motors. One had sucked in a large amount of insulation and the other one just gave up.

After studying the way these things were put together, we figured the only way to access the motors and caps was to take the bottom off of the units. I wonder if that was the best way and I will get the unit number so someone can possibly answer my question.

Now taking the bottom off of the unit was still a hassle, ceiling tile grids in the way, and trying to make sure the units were supported when we moved the attachment straps, etc. Still we managed to do the job and get the units up and running.

Next we have supply temp sensors to install on many units and land the wires on the TEC's. We completed one last week and I could see the readout on the Insight program after cycling the power.

So far so good, and I would appreciate any and all knowledge you guys could provide.

Post Likes