Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    93
    Post Likes

    Trane RTU intermittent electrical problem

    Occupants turn heat on then later turn ac back on and ac doesn't run. I open the Trane RTU and see 3 contactors. The first one is engaged. The other two are 3-phase contactors, one for each 3-phase compressor. The control board is getting 24V call for compressor but first stage contactor not engaging. I shut breaker off, turn back on. Same thing. Control board not sending 24V to first stage contactor. There are two fuse cover knobs by the toggle switch. I twist off and on the top one and suddenly the control board sends 24V to said first stage contactor and the unit runs. Turned breaker off, started over. Same thing happens. What is going on? Why would turning on the heat or turning off-on the breaker stop the unit but playing with the fuse cover knob wake the control board up? Checked fuses. All good. Metal cylinder fuses for line voltage just like the breaker.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    LA CA
    Posts
    66
    Post Likes
    Maybe low refrigerant charge.

    Sent from my VS988 using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Bay Area California
    Posts
    24,768
    Post Likes
    I've had to replace those fuse holders before. For me, the tell tale sign was a bit of a burn spot on the fuse where the connection was poor.
    If you were a real tech, you'd solder a relay on that board and call it good to go.

    I do a triple evac with nitro to remove non condensables.

    I use 56% silver on everything except steel.

    Did you really need the " If you were a real tech " ??

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    31,749
    Post Likes
    Not only could the fuse holders have a problem, but the fuses themselves could be intermittent... because typically these are dual-element fuses and one of the elements can get sort of wonky, and not really be good even though you can measure continuity on your ohm meter.

    So, the first and easiest attempt at a solution is to replace the offending fuse with an exact equivalent fuse.

    You could bring along a new fuse holder in case you need it....they are not very expensive.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist
    Member, IAEI

    AOP Forum Rules:







  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    31,749
    Post Likes
    By the way... those fuses are probably powering the transformer which powers the combustion blower motor.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist
    Member, IAEI

    AOP Forum Rules:







  6. Likes CEAS-AC-TECH liked this post
  7. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    edmonds wa
    Posts
    4,307
    Post Likes
    Maybe in lockout and ur just resetting it?
    UA Local 32

  8. #7
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    29
    Post Likes
    Is it an RTRM board? Does it have cool fail alarm when you first come to it? They don't flash a long series to indicate specific problem just flash twice, you measure DC between pins 6-7 6-8 on the J6 strip as I recall. You can also check the econo for fault code, sounds like a low ambient situation. If they are using heat.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    2,900
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Kevin Orye View Post
    Is it an RTRM board? Does it have cool fail alarm when you first come to it? They don't flash a long series to indicate specific problem just flash twice, you measure DC between pins 6-7 6-8 on the J6 strip as I recall. You can also check the econo for fault code, sounds like a low ambient situation. If they are using heat.
    ^^^^
    X2, sounds like you're doing a board reset.
    Run the cooling and look for issues.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    31,749
    Post Likes
    How about the model and serial number....that would be very helpful, because you could be looking at a Voyager or you could be looking at a Precedent unit.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist
    Member, IAEI

    AOP Forum Rules:







Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •