Portland, OR(Previous: Arizona, Texas, Oklahoma)
    Post Likes

Bryant variable speed heat pump question

Will Bryant variable speed heat pumps hold up in the Phoenix area?

I'm a service technician that owns a rental house in Phoenix and I'm currently working in Oregon.

I want to install new heat pumps in my rental and want variable speed because my electric bill was over $500/month with the thermostats set at 80 degrees. (yes my refrigerant levels were perfect and yes they were sized correctly)

I worked for a Trane company in Arizona and I was a huge fan of their XVs. However, now I'm working for a Bryant company so my employee discount is through Bryant.

I don't recall seeing any variable speed Bryant/Carriers in my two years working there and I know they have/had compressor issues in high temperatures (288BNV)

Sent from my LM-G710VM using Tapatalk

Post Likes
    That unit uses a rotary compressor. It has tighter operational limits than the 280ANV.
    Climate Control Solutions for your Home or Office

Serving Northeast Philadelphia and Surrounding Areas

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by comfortdoc View Post
    That unit uses a rotary compressor. It has tighter operational limits than the 280ANV.
    Think I'm better off sticking with an XV?

Post Likes
    I ask as a former landlord, Why would you want to put premium hvac in a rental ? Do you pay the utilities ? Just curious.

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by oldguy1949 View Post
    I ask as a former landlord, Why would you want to put premium hvac in a rental ? Do you pay the utilities ? Just curious.
    Investment property. I'm doing it for resale value because I can get them at a discounted rate and I know good installers that can take care of it for me.

Basically I can spend $5-6k and raise value by a lot more than what I put in.