Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    53
    Post Likes

    Goodman heat pump

    Hello friends Im working on a Goodman heat pump less than 3 months since installed
    It runs good for hours then it blows the 3 amp board fuse in air handler
    Unable to verify the over amp or short
    Any ideas


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    29
    Post Likes
    I can only say things like that can take a while. time to get out a meter.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Elizabethtown, PA
    Posts
    97
    Post Likes
    Is it being used for heating or cooling? Does the fuse blow in both modes? What measurements have you taken?

    If this is happening in heat only, I wouldn't be surprised if there is a short in the defrost wiring.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    53
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Yes heating, cooling is fine
    Im suspecting defrost wiring too trying to catch it


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    FLORIDA
    Posts
    289
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by ARIOSTO1 View Post
    Hello friends I’m working on a Goodman heat pump less than 3 months since installed
    It runs good for hours then it blows the 3 amp board fuse in air handler
    Unable to verify the over amp or short
    Any ideas


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Check Thermostats and contactor, sometime low voltage short come from there
    also check thermostat wires, especially inside condenser and air handler,
    sometime they touch the metal cabinet
    Visit our website at www.airconcomfortcooling.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Missouri, USA
    Posts
    1,530
    Post Likes
    Did the forced defrost work?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    53
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    The white wire from airhandler to condenser was pulling 6.5 amps l just switched with another wire and when back to 0.3 amps
    Great!!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    6,423
    Post Likes
    Sounds like you got it, time will tell..BTW, if this is on a residential property hopefully the owner registered the system as manufacturers warranty decreases significantly if never registered. California and Quebec need not to be registered to receive the maximum manufacturers warranty.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    FLORIDA
    Posts
    289
    Post Likes
    you got it
    Visit our website at www.airconcomfortcooling.com

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    edmonds wa
    Posts
    4,434
    Post Likes
    So the white wire is shorted somewhere? i would pull up a chair and run it thru all cycles a couple times.
    UA Local 32 retired as of Jan 2020

  11. Likes CEAS-AC-TECH liked this post.
  12. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold, NY
    Posts
    26,284
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by ARIOSTO1 View Post
    The white wire from airhandler to condenser was pulling 6.5 amps l just switched with another wire and when back to 0.3 amps
    Great!!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Do you realize how lucky you are extra wires were pulled!

  13. Likes CEAS-AC-TECH liked this post.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •