Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Likes

Bosch BOVA 2.0 vs other High Efficiency Inverter Heat Pump Units, Recommendations?

Hello Guys, I'm new to this wonderful forum and finding it very educational. I'm learning as much as I can before deciding on a company and brand that will provide a fairly problem free lifespan for our home. Yet realizing the average heat pump will last about 10-15 years if we are lucky and it is maintained well.

My last system lasted 11 years, a few ODU motors burned up and it was at the time of purchase a high end ODU: Trane Xi hooded with IDU: True Variable Speed air handler R22 system. I have to say, built like a tank for its time. Now Trane seemly has this entirely new more complex, molded IDU line called a TAM 9 Hyperion, similar ODU: inverter DC compressor with spine-fin coil and hooded unit, seems would be a direct comparison to the Bosch BOVA 2.0. In efficiencies theory, is what I'm thinking.

But my question(s) meter goes off the charts; the ODU of the Trane has this spine-fin coil whereas the Bosch 2.0 seems to have this layered coil, like seen on a small car, is that called micro channel. The IDU on the Trane has a positive pressure true variable speed air handler, seems only American Standard does this, I can't find anyone else doing this type of configuration? The Trane could be better considering it also has a communicating thermostat, more outdoor surface area and indoor surface area?

But I wonder how the Trane IDU TAM 9 Hyperion coil sweats; will it handle humidity better, hard to find these details?

It would seem in my area of North East / Central PA, there are allot of good qualified companies that are really trying to push Bosch 1.0 / 2.0. Being made in China doesn't really concern me too much; everything is made overseas today and sadly in most cases superior manufacturing and QA.